RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

286 Users Online (138 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> 2010 to 2009 compatibility

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 3:44:39 AM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#1

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Has anyone tried to use or is it possible to use 2010 files in 2009 version?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 9:27:42 AM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


there had not and probably will never be any backward file compatability in Revit.

i guess the answer to your question is no.



Edited on: Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 4:28:30 AM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 11:11:56 AM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#3

kokski


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 7, 2006
1 Posts
No Rating


It is NOT possible.  I tried to use 2010 files in 2009 but to no avail.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 5:32:44 PM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#4

LEVIT


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 2, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


I find that retarded...we upgraded to 2010 and my consultants are still in 2009...now what.??? it does not help that im hating 2010...to much change!

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 6:31:03 PM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 199 Votes


"we upgraded to 2010 and my consultants are still in 2009...now what.???" - HOUSTON, WE HAVE A PROBLEM!!!!!

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 8:53:16 PM | Typhoon

#6

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Quoting Typhoon from 2009-04-30 13:31:03

"

"we upgraded to 2010 and my consultants are still in 2009...now what.???" - HOUSTON, WE HAVE A PROBLEM!!!!!

 

"
Ooooops!!!!......and serious......

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 9:23:29 PM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


They keep telling everybody that REVIT forces you to think A H E A D !

 

I guess you now know that means more than just design phase!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 10:25:32 PM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#8

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Pure greed nothing else. Forcing everyone to buy latest products.

Levit, now we have the same problem in our office.

Is it the same case with ACAD2010 or you can still save your drawings in version 2007, etc


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 1, 2009 at 2:38:09 AM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#9

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Well, their answer is as simple as this:

http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/thread.jspa?messageID=6171070��

But fortunately this is not the case with AutoCAD, stankovic...



Edited on: Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 9:49:17 PM

Attached Images

58215_2009-04-302003.png

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 1, 2009 at 5:50:39 AM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#10

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I see, its probably not as important as having a new user interface.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 1, 2009 at 6:05:50 AM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#11

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I get a little sick of this question.  It comes up every release of Revit.  Revit will never have backward capability and rightly so.  If it did, then expect even less in new features of each new release...  Autodesk would then have to offer support etc for previous releases instead of concentrating on the latest version.  For instance, how would 2009 interpret the new forms you can create in 2010.  It simply couldn't without an update.

If you are working on a project with consultants utilising Revit then the upgrade has to be coordinated.  LEVIT, this is the reason that it is important to always plan the upgrade of any software and explore the implications...  Anyway, hopefully your consultants won't be too far behind, they are, after all on subscription so they have no excuse not to be on the latest version other than training for the new interface (this has put quite a few people off upgrading). 

 

My 2 cents.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 1, 2009 at 3:49:30 PM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#12

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


As Mr. Spot stated, how could a previous release know how to deal with new features from a new release?

Revit is more than just a 3D program, it is also a database and if there are changes made to that information that don't exist in previous releases then what is Revit supposed to do? Should it convert content to generic masses with no intelligence? Should it try and remove all new parameters?

People are upset now, imagine the issues that you could have w/ backward compatibility and frustrated you would be spending a lot of time using the new features, information, options only to down save and lose it all.

I suppose some would be happy because then we could have 80 different threads on here complaining about how Autodesk has let them down again. I for one am glad that there isn't backward compatibility and hope there never is.

As mentioned earlier...that's why there is subscription.

 



Edited on: Fri, May 1, 2009 at 10:50:30 AM

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 1, 2009 at 11:28:57 PM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#13

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Lets face it, do you realy think that new features in 2010 would affect anything if file is save to 2009 version? Considering the amount and relevance of new features in version 2010 I do not see what would be a problem to have an option of saving a file to 2009 version.  That is why I said in another thread that people from Autodesk should take time and work on real issues that every day users face (check wish list forum) and  issue a new release every 2 years with some substantial improvements.

In my opinion, subscription cost do not justify amount of new features in version 2010. 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 2, 2009 at 5:10:33 PM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Stankovic, you say ..."Considering the amount and relevance of new features in version 2010 I do not see what would be a problem to have an option of saving a file to 2009 version."   Well I can.  We can only see the user interface on a new release but we have no way of knowing what improvements may have made to how Revit handles raw data or stores it.  That is what prevents backward compatability. 

 

I'm with Mr. Spot on this.  I don't ever want them wasting anytime trying to make REVIT backward compatable.  That problem has always held AutoCAD back.  If you can't keep up, don't hold me back.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 2, 2009 at 11:13:36 PM | 2010 to 2009 compatibility

#15

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


OK guys,

obviously we can not agree on this one. Anyway another thing, instead of opening another thread just want to ask a question about subscription. lets say I paid subscription last year and  received the latest version at that time, 2009, and this year I do not want to renew my subscription and want to continue using the software received last year without having an access to updates, etc. Am I still entitled to use version 2009?

Hub, one more thing about gallery uploads, I have added updated image yesterday and want to remove initial upload, how can I do that? Or is it possible to remove image? Thanks


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2010 on win 7 w/xp compatibility mode?

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 11:54:41 PM

1

Linking 2009 with 2010

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 10, 2011 at 9:03:57 PM

4

Saving frpom 2010 to 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 13, 2011 at 7:13:05 PM

3

Opening a 2010 file in 2009

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:51:56 PM

3

Release Compatibility Structure - Architecture - Etc?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 17, 2011 at 6:57:25 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1566599

Objects:

21426

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5142

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights