RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

36 Users Online (35 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Adding a material to a mass imported from Rhino

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 6:43:32 PM | Adding a material to a mass imported from Rhino

#1

jutoft


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


Hey everybody,

I have a question about how I can add a material to a mass imported from rhino. I have been surfing around and I can't seem to find a answer ( I am a bit of a rookie though so I might have missed something obvious :D )

I have imported the geometry via a .sat file from rhino into a revit family file. I then click on the geometry and go to

1. element properties

2. visible

3. add parameter...

This opens the parameter properties menu, from here I choose

1. family parameter

2. set group parameter to materials and finishes

3. choose a name

This is where my problem begins though. The menu "type of parameter" is greyed out and fixed on "yes/no" rather than on "materials" as I need.I imagine that it might be because I have have a problem with the imported geometry?

 Am I trying to do something that can't be done or am I missing something in my workprocess?

I am using Revit Architecture 2009 (I hope I am posting in the right forum?) and am attaching the file in question

Any help would be greatly appreciated :D



Edited on: Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 6:50:58 PM

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 8:11:17 PM | Adding a material to a mass imported from Rhino

#2

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hi jutoft, look, when you import to Revit a model made in Rhino, you always will find its materials here: Settings-->Materials... (see image). Depending on the colors you gave to its components (i.e. blue for glass, etc.), you´ll find them with names like "Render Material 255,255,255" which will be assigned with a blue color, what you have to do is to assign a material to each component (see image). This is also effective to models imported from Sketchup, 3ds Max (both via .dwg type files) and AutoCAD.

Attached Images

58070_2009-04-281851.png58070_3D_View_1.jpg

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 9:52:40 PM | Adding a material to a mass imported from Rhino

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Rather than do this, I recommend going to settings-->Object Styles-->Imported and linking the layers to materials of regular naming.  This way you don't end up with materials that are specific to certain families.

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 29, 2009 at 2:45:12 AM | Adding a material to a mass imported from Rhino

#4

jutoft


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


Thank you very much, that did it!

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 22, 2010 at 2:27:31 PM | Adding a material to a mass imported from Rhino

#5

jimmyoloughlin


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 13, 2009
1 Posts
No Rating


Is there a way to apply multiple materials within one import.  I successfully did what was said above, but was not able to apply different materials to different layers of my import.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Rhino imported as mass

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 7, 2013 at 12:58:00 AM

7

Rhino to Revit Conceptual Mass

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 10, 2013 at 8:15:45 AM

1

Can't Make Type - curtain wall panel on imported rhino mass

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 27, 2010 at 8:02:47 AM

1

URGENT HELP! Rhino polysurface to Revit Mass

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 20, 2015 at 11:27:53 PM

0

Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, Dec 10, 2011 at 6:30:09 AM

8

Site Stats

Members:

2018030

Objects:

22948

Forum Posts:

152221

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6322

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights