RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

39 Users Online (38 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks >> 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 9:25:17 AM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#1

jarosa


active
jarosa Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
251 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Here is a great tip. IMHO.

Select the Modify Panel.

The Modify tool is a nice size icon on its own panel. Rip that panel right off the Ribbon and place it on the top left corner of your drawing area (or wherever you like. I like it there because that is the general area where i spend most of my mouse time picking icons.).

This should help productivity if you use modify to end a command. Instead of trying to hit the tiny modify icon on the QAT or Right Click Cancel (2 clicks)...presto.

John


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 12:24:08 PM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#2

mongopac


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 16, 2007
41 Posts
No Rating


Nice....I like it....

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 5:15:55 AM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#3

RolyNZ


active
RolyNZ Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
11 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


Thanks bud, you learn something new every day!

-----------------------------------

www.Crawshaw Architecture.co.nz

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Jun 21, 2009 at 11:33:10 PM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#4

AidanWeisz19


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 21, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


Thank you, john. This really helped me

-----------------------------------
General Contractors in Washington DC

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 7:50:21 PM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#5

snofreek


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 20, 2007
8 Posts
No Rating


Uhhh....  ESC button on the keyboard not easy enough for you?

-----------------------------------

save to central

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 10:13:13 PM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#6

nafenn


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 12, 2007
15 Posts
No Rating


This sounds amazing for lefties.

If however you are right handed, here's a nifty trick:

Step 1 - Hold mouse with right, do not let go!!!!

Step 2 - Place left hand in very close proximity to ESC button

Step 3 - Enter shortcuts / measurements with left hand

Step 4 - repeat Step 2

 

Peace.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 10:23:03 PM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#7

RolyNZ


active
RolyNZ Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
11 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


Classic!

 

Yeah esc key works on my keyboard too... it's pretty shiny

What is helpfull is by dragging out the edit tools, they become staic, there all the time.

Hopefully the Revit boffins will also manage to get the icons to stay relatively static in the next update.


-----------------------------------

www.Crawshaw Architecture.co.nz

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 7:56:44 AM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#8

leighton


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


It's really very helpful. Thanks for the tip!

 

Regards,Leightonprêts travaux 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 3, 2009 at 8:45:41 AM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#9

jarosa


active
jarosa Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
251 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


As I said in the original post, "This should help productivity if you use modify to end a command." For those users that use the escape key, this tip isn't helpful. Ending with the modify tool is how I (and I presume many users) learned the program. I've been experimenting with the escape key since.

Happy Bimming to all.


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Oct 3, 2009 at 3:53:08 PM | 2010 Modify Tool tip (this is good!)

#10

RolyNZ


active
RolyNZ Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
11 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


Hey I use the escape key, but I found your tip usefull in other ways, I didn't realise you could reposition the toolbars like that. They are a godsend to be able to have selected tools available all the time, + they don't jump around. My wish is that I could lock into position or customise the various toolbars, if they weren't available, perhaps grey them out. I know this uses up more screen, but I often find myself double, triple clicking to use a command too often in Revit.

-----------------------------------

www.Crawshaw Architecture.co.nz

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

tool tip text on sheet

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 18, 2016 at 10:38:52 AM

2

Tag dimensions to reference plane in 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 1:41:42 PM

6

Revit 2013 Help.... Pick Lines tool box.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 24, 2013 at 9:49:23 AM

10

Rollover Tool Tip box does not disappear

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 9, 2014 at 12:11:58 PM

6

Linework tool issue

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 26, 2011 at 3:20:44 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

2009768

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152198

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8019

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights