RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

218 Users Online (91 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Moving / Aligning Groups

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 27, 2009 at 2:58:00 PM | Moving / Aligning Groups

#1

hank


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 3, 2005
31 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I have a bunch of lines from a 2D cad file that I turnied into a group in Revit within a Generic Model Family.  I want the lines in the group to stay in the same position relative to each other but the entire group should be able to move with a reference plane.  Anyone know how can I do this?

 

As it is now, the alignment is broken every time I flex the model - i.e. the group seems to need to stay in one place while the family flexes around it.

 

Thanks in advance. 


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 27, 2009 at 4:29:23 PM | Moving / Aligning Groups

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 366 Votes


This is a poor use of groups - you use groups when you want multiple instances of something.  You could place these lines in a seperate family or you can dimension these and lock the dimensions.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 27, 2009 at 5:28:05 PM | Moving / Aligning Groups

#3

hank


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 3, 2005
31 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Thanks but it would be insane to dimension and constrain every line in a group containing 50 objects, including curves and possible elipses.  I understand that I could make a nested detail component family, but this also seems exceedingly labor intensive - for every family I want to create I would have to create 3 detail families to represent front, side, and plan!

 There has to be a better way. 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 5, 2012 at 8:02:17 PM | Moving / Aligning Groups

#4

Ncurtis


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 29, 2009
1 Posts
No Rating


You can place a line (invisible type in the group, close the group, align that line with your reference plane, and then lock it.  Your group is now aligned to the reference plane.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 6, 2012 at 2:06:04 AM | Moving / Aligning Groups

#5

hank


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 3, 2005
31 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Thanks N,

I discovered that the problem I was having was sort of unrelated to the group question but this has been helpful nonetheless.

 

In case you ever have this problem, here goes:

 

  1. You have a wall hosted family like a sink that you just draw in plan with lines in plan (hoping to actually have time to model in 3d in the future!).
  2. You make a group of the sink lines and align/lock to the face of the wall.
  3. Then you load the family into the model and the sink seems to float out from the wall.  Other times it may appear to be embedded in the wall.
  4. You go back to the family and change the thickness of the wall and the sink moves with it as expected.

Why?

It seems that when you align/lock your group to the wall, sometimes you end up aligning it to the Face of the core when in fact you want to align to the face of the wall.  I went into the structure of the wall (in the Family Editor mind you) in order to add thickness outside the core to verify this.  When I align to this way, everything seems to work fine.

Not sure if anyone else has had this experience, but perhaps this will save someone from the few hours of frustration I endured.

Note also that sometimes the family had a reference plane called something like "Wall Face" that seems to already distinguish between core faces and finished faces.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

How can I freeze groups?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 21, 2006 at 3:06:39 PM

6

MOVING AND ALIGNING WALLS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 10, 2012 at 11:57:39 AM

1

moving a model group affects all instances?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 17, 2017 at 3:16:37 PM

2

Groups and Phases

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jan 30, 2015 at 4:45:27 AM

3

Revit 2008 Groups

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 17, 2007 at 7:08:31 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1620772

Objects:

21973

Forum Posts:

151618

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.8175

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights