RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

290 Users Online (129 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next >>

Fri, Apr 24, 2009 at 4:00:14 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#1

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


I just moved four lines on a simple project and 2010 crashed with a recovery option.  I switched this project to 2010 just two days ago and have had no problems with 2009 crashing.  I am now going back to 2009 and am losing two days worth of work on that project.  If I am the only one, then maybe there is a problem here that can be fixed.  If this is common, then I will just have to wait for Revit to fix it.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 24, 2009 at 4:01:39 PM | Correction

#2

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


That should read "without a recovery option".  Didn't we used to able to edit our posts?

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Apr 25, 2009 at 7:16:36 AM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#3

flattopafro


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


I'm having exactly the same issue. My drivers are bang up to date and I too experienced very few problems in terms of stability with 2009. The longest I've had 2010 running was about 7 minutes before crashing out. This has happened about 8 times after various tweaks and rebooting but all to no avail.

 Back to 2009 for me until I get some answers.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 25, 2009 at 11:41:45 AM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


Hi, did you have your graphics card driver updated??? Are you working with "Use hardware acceleration (Direct3D)" ON????

Try to UPDATE your drivers and turn OFF the Direct3D....

 



Attached Images

57817_card.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, Apr 26, 2009 at 10:33:37 AM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#5

flattopafro


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Yep, did all of that and still having problems

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 7:46:20 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#6

scampbell


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


Seriously annoyed with 2010- so far HATE IT!! What the heck was wrong with 2009 that they had to change everything! Crashes constantly or takes 20 min to "think" whenever editing a component in place! Never be able to finish this way- and too late to go back to 2009! Thanks alot for the "new and improved" version!

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 7:54:13 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#7

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


well considering the advancements in the software and lack of individuals ability to keep their workstations up to date its been my experience that 90% of system crashes are hardware related. My only issues have been GPU and multi monitor related. My suggestion is to take your journal file from a crash and submit it to tech support and also verify your machine is running the latest drivers, bios, and ensure your workstation can properly handle the software. If you think it is your project, detach and audit the project from your central file, detach all the links in it and recreate a new central file.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 11:12:19 AM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#8

kgvogel


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 26, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


I have been working on Revit 2010 since last week Friday, which means its been 2 and a half days. In this time, my Revit has bombed out exactly 20 times.

I am also not able to file error reports to AutoDesk because im never prompted with an error report message, Revit simply just disappears while working, or just restarts my computer. This has happened with about 4 or 5 people working in the office all with different specs. I also surely can not believe it could be the specs, because earlier today i restarted my computer, opened a new massing family, started with a mass form and within 10 minutes it bombed out. There is no chance that my system can't handle that. I was working on massive files in 2009, litterally 250 times in size, and this has never happened. 

When 2010 is not bombing out, its probably a good 15% slower than of 2009 and often just freezes for well over half a minute, where i can't do anything and just sit and wait, and it does this almost ever 4-5 minutes.

So far Revit 2010 has given me no reason to be excited. The only thing which is an improvement on the previous one is the massing, but even this function does not come close to the simplicity of a product like Sketchup.

Anyone got some advise, because this is obviously a little problematic..


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 3:26:06 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#9

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


In all the post, you didn't said what is the "Specs" of your/s machine....

 



Edited on: Mon, Aug 10, 2009 at 12:21:19 PM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 7:47:50 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#10

dgwarchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 9, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


was having serious problems with revit 2010 crashing.  contacted subscription support they advised to change my cache memory to 3G and to upgrade ram.  did the cache change and installed 2 more g of ram.  has worked flawlessly since, have completed two residential projects, small but complex forms.  system is dell m90, 4g ram.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 7:54:58 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#11

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


Well, I use 8 GB ram, Vista 64 with Revit2010 64, with Direct3D on and no problems at all... (until now)....

 

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 8:11:21 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#12

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Well, I also have 8 RAM, Vista Ultimate x64 and Revit Arch x64, Direct 3D on and no issues so far .....

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 5:51:48 PM | Revit 2010 Crashing

#13

Gigafish


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 22, 2009
10 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting erland73 from 2009-06-04 15:11:21

"Well, I also have 8 RAM, Vista Ultimate x64 and Revit Arch x64, Direct 3D on and no issues so far ....."

You do realize that this has no support value what-so-ever right? 

.

Our office is experiencing issues with 2010 crashing. The errors happen across various machines with different hardware configurations. We've experimented with a number of different adjustments to try to find a stable solution. Everything including and after step 2 may help some other person find a solution. Maybe someone can benefit from the trials and tribulations we’ve had with this latest version of Revit.

 

We have a subscription with Autodesk, and had been using Revit 2009 prior to 2010. 2009 didn’t cause any issues with our software/hardware configurations. We use both Architectural and MEP versions, and have experienced inexplicable crashes with both. The majority of the crashes involve Revit just closing to the user’s desktop, while some have returned BSODs and consequential system restarts.

.

The following steps are in no particular order, but represent the measures and attempts my firm has taken to try to get 2010 to work.  

1. Running various machines, all with XP 32-bit, all above minimum requirements.

a. Dell Optiplex 755 (2.33 GHz Intel Core 2, Between 3 and 4 GB of memory, ATI Radeon HD 2400)

b. Custom (2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Quad, 4GB of memory, Nvidia GeForce 9600GT)

c. Dell Optiplex 745 (3.4 GHz Dual Pentium D, Between 3 and 4GB of memory, ATI X1300 Pro) 

.

2. Update BIOS, drivers, OS service packs

a. Updated to XP sp3.

b. Latest graphics drivers from either the OEM, Nvidia, or ATI.c. Hardware BIOS updates. 

.

3. Defrag, temp file and disk cleanup

a. Use the windows defrag tool after Revit install.

b. Clear out temp files, through IE or

c. Windows Disk cleanup

.

4. 3GB switch - http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb124810.aspx

.

a. For people running a 32-bit operating system with more than 2GB of memory, you might find improved performance by adding the /3GB startup switch. This will allow programs like Revit to access more memory. Just use the link above, follow the directions exactly, and realize you’re taking your computer into your own hands. In our case, we were able to confirm that Revit was using more memory after the switch, but unfortunately it continued a pattern of crashing, and instability. New page write errors appeared in the event viewer, which we were able to correct with a registry edit, but unfortunately there were other problems, so we had to revert from the /3GB switch.

.

5. Disable hardware acceleration within Revit options

a. In our own trials, we found this to reduce performance.

.

6. Increase cache size

a. Changed cache memory to 3GB.

.

My firm has gone through all of these steps, but to no avail. We’re continuing to talk with support and look for service packs or updated drivers. If anyone here in RevitCity has some better ideas, please let us know. We’re tired of wasting time with this software.When we finish our current projects, if 2010 isn’t stable, we’ll have no choice but to go back and use 2009.

Edited on: Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:54:24 PMEdited on: Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:55:23 PMEdited on: Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:56:55 PMEdited on: Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:59:07 PM

Edited on: Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 1:00:21 PM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 7:11:04 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#14

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


from what i been reading, it seems the Revit 2010 will be the AutoCad 13 of it's time.  Or are we to the point where every software upgrade will have to come with a hardware upgrade also?  just some random thoughts, i know they are of no help.

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 7:42:01 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#15

GMMcCrossin


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 22, 2009
16 Posts
No Rating


I am using everything 2010 and it works great. I did like 09 better as far as the layout. But I have tryed and couldnt crashed crash it.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Parametric Cabinets causing crash in RAC 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 11, 2009 at 6:21:18 PM

2

2010 & 2011

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 29, 2010 at 7:10:54 AM

7

Crash!!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 5, 2011 at 9:09:10 PM

5

2010 seems to crash my computer alot more

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 4:56:58 PM

0

Constant Crash 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:56:31 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1469787

Objects:

20534

Forum Posts:

150614

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3455

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights