RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

209 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Area and Room Tags

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 6:38:41 PM | Area and Room Tags

#1

elduderino1234


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 19, 2007
78 Posts
No Rating


RAC 2009

My firm is working on a multi-family condo project and we have run into a slight problem. Currently, we have 12 different unit types that are repeated for a total of 63 units. I have already gone ahead and done a rentable area calc for each unit on each floor. In addition, on the overall floor plans, I created area plans for each room in the units but only once. If a unit repeats, rather than dropping in a new room, I just used text to say "Sim. to XX"

Here is where the problem is. Now, we are trying to go through and give each unit a number. In order to do this, I was thinking that each wall inside the unit would be non-room bounding and then just use the room tool to denote the entire unit. I would still like to keep the room seperation lines for the enlarged unit plans and show the different rooms on the enlarged floor plan. What do you guys usually do in this situation? Any help is appreciated. Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 6:54:04 PM | Area and Room Tags

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


I hope you are not confusing rooms and areas - you have both and each is definable and can be named.  Use your area designations for your units and keep your rooms - as "rooms".

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 6:57:07 PM | Area and Room Tags

#3

elduderino1234


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 19, 2007
78 Posts
No Rating


No no, not confusing rooms and areas. I want to be able have an overall room inside the unit (to define the unit type and number) as well as individual rooms. Does such a thing exist?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 7:02:22 PM | Area and Room Tags

#4

elduderino1234


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 19, 2007
78 Posts
No Rating


Maybe I could create an element tag that would actually tag the individual groups for the units. The tag would contain the unit type and number data. However, is it possible to also add area to this tag? Advice is appreciated. Thanks

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 7:14:00 PM | Area and Room Tags

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


As I said ... use the area for the units.  The area limits would be the overall "room" that you want.  Add a parameter for Unit number ... and obviously, the area tag could have the area and the unit number.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 7:23:03 PM | Area and Room Tags

#6

elduderino1234


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 19, 2007
78 Posts
No Rating


The only problem is that it isn't possible to create an area boundary on a non-Area Plan view. I want the best of both worlds: area plan on overall plan with rooms. Can i do it?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 7:28:56 PM | Area and Room Tags

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


I don't think so ... but why don't you use a small unit "key" plan and place that view on the same sheet?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 7:36:31 PM | Area and Room Tags

#8

elduderino1234


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 19, 2007
78 Posts
No Rating


Sorry about the double post...

 Can you elaborate on this key plan idea? Is it something that include on the overall floor plan showing the area and unit number of something to be included on the enlarged unit plan sheets?  Thanks for all your help thus far. We're almost there, I can feel it!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 7:46:22 PM | Area and Room Tags

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


I'm just suggesting that you do an area plan using area tags that are named with the unit number.  The area tag can show the area SF.  You could do this plan at a smaller scale .... maybe with the walls halftone ... and place this plan on your plan sheets.... you could use similar ones on your large scale unit plans as well - but I think I would rater use a legend for those.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 7:48:06 PM | Area and Room Tags

#10

elduderino1234


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 19, 2007
78 Posts
No Rating


Here's an idea that I think might work....

 I place two rooms in the same room. They will be overlapping, of course, but it won't matter. I just need, for the schedules sake, the unit type, floor, unit number and then use the areas from the area plan and put it all on one sheet. Sounds good to me. Problem solved


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

changing the scale of my room and area tags with the scale of my area plan.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 22, 2010 at 3:38:38 PM

1

Room tags with area - area not showing up!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 16, 2007 at 11:54:26 PM

4

Area Plans & Room Tags

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 12, 2006 at 8:50:55 AM

2

Phasing is interfering with Room Area/Tags (I think)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 28, 2016 at 6:15:48 PM

1

Room tag not showing in only one room.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Oct 1, 2021 at 4:04:59 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1706593

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4169

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights