RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

206 Users Online (48 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 2:59:47 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#1

harry89


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


Hey guys im new to the forums here

My laptop is old and needs replacing and im going to build a desktop that i can run Autocad, Revit and probably 3dsMax. I have done a little bit of research into the matter but there is no recent threads that say specs, as computer technology changes about every 7 seconds. I plan to use XP Pro 64 bit OS and i basically want to know the best Processor, Motherboard, Graphics Card and Amount of RAM that you guys would recommend. I also plan on using a 24inch monitor. My total budget is around $2000AUS. Any help or advice in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

 Cheers


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 3:29:17 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#2

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hi harry89, have you checked the Autodesk specificactions for Revit?

System Requirements

System Recommendations for 64-bit Autodesk Revit Architecture

  • Windows XP Professional x64 edition (SP1 or later)
  • Intel Core 2 Duo 2.40GHz or equivalent AMD processor
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 5 GB free disk space
  • Dedicated video card with hardware support for DirectX 9 (or later)
  • Internet Explorer 6.0 SP1 (or later)
  • Two-button mouse with scroll wheel

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 18, 2009 at 1:28:06 AM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#3

Dmxarchitect


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 17, 2007
4 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


ok video card is your preference i have an ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro with 512mb dedicated ram. I am running 4gb of ram on an INtel core 2 quad core processor. You could upgrade to the Intel core I7 which is the best on the market but carries a price tag. The processor is the key for shorter rendering times. I would actually advise running Dual displays if you could like two 19inch. The video card above works great for modeling doesnt skip a beat and has dual DVI outputs. Basically get at least 4gb of ram and a quad core or better processor and you will be fine. This setup works GREAT for revit 09 but i dont know about 3d max but it should be fine. The picture attached took about 22 minutes to render on best quality with 6 interior lights.

 ^Fyi you dont need 8gs of ram that is not true probably a typo. I dont even know of any pcs that run that much.



Edited on: Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 8:29:28 PM

Attached Images

57278_Girls_bedroom.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 22, 2009 at 5:30:01 AM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#4

boulderdev


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 22, 2009
1 Posts
No Rating


I am the same harry, I am looking for good advice on a good system for rendering with revit and 3dsmax.  I know you can expand the ram but you have to make sure the motherboard accepts it.  but the advice helps thanx guys

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 22, 2009 at 6:16:09 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#5

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


 Dmx - a 64bit macine can handle unlimited RAM I believe, largest I have seen is 128 gb of RAM. 32bit has a 3.2 gb ceiling.

 

Boulderdev,

 If you are using 3ds max I would recommend at least a single quad core processor around 3gb on 64bit OS and at least 8 gb of ram. With the new Max 2010 enhancements it pays to have a high end gpu. I didnt go to nuts with the processor on my machine becuase with Max I can distrubute my renders over the entire network and hijack processors from other machines.

 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 2:16:13 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#6

harry89


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


 

thanks for the input guys. this is the system i am thinking so far. i will be using revit more than 3dsmax

 

Intel CORE 2 QUAD Q9550/2.83GHz/12MB CACHE/1333MHz FSB/LGA775

Asus P5Q3 S775 P45 4DDR3 1800(OC)2PCIE2.0 RAID GBLAN

Geil 4G(2x2G) DDR3 1333 PC10666 CL9

Geil 4G(2x2G) DDR3 1333 PC10666 CL9

Western Digital 500G SATAII 7200 rpm HDD(16Mb Cache)

Gigabyte GF9600GT 1G 256bit DDR3 PCIE2.0 2xDVI-I HDCP

Samsung 2333SW 23inch Wide Full HD LCD 5ms High Glossy Black Tilt DVI-D

Microsoft XP Pro X64 Ed (OEM 

let us know what you think   

 



Edited on: Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 10:06:02 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 2:28:19 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#7

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Wow!!!!....but why don´t you try with Windows Vista Business 64-bits or Ultimate instead of the Win Xp 64-bits??? ´cause they´re more stable and it seems that also accept more RAM....

Edited on: Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 9:31:16 AM

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 3:01:33 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#8

harry89


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


yeah im hoping this system should tie me over for a while

i dont know to much about the OS but all i know is that im not a fan of vista

if you look in the system requirements for revit on autodesk they have their minimum requirements and their recommendations, and the minimum requirements say both vista and xp pro, but the recommendations just say xp pro. So i figure if they prefer it, it must be ok, but yeah i dont really like vista


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 4:13:08 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#9

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


"...the recommendations just say xp pro. So i figure if they prefer it...". Lol, yeah, it´s wierd, isn´t it??

Edited on: Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 11:31:03 AM

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 24, 2009 at 5:51:39 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#10

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


thats almost the exact machine I have. I stick with Vista 65 now. I just sometimes happen to use my laptop that has an xp/vista dual boot and virtual machine into the other OS so i can use all my apps. but none of that really deals with revit directly.

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Apr 25, 2009 at 3:17:20 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#11

harry89


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone have any thoughts on using a card like a

Gigabyte GF9600GT 1G 256bit DDR3 PCIE2.0 2xDVI-I HDCP (or something along those lines)

compared to using a quadro fx 570/580. Is it worth spending a tad more for this

since they are designed for CAD applications??


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 27, 2009 at 2:08:15 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#12

harry89


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


okay decided against a quadro card as the costs outway probably what i will notice, plus can always upgrade later.

after some more advice these are the specs i think i have settled on.

 

Intel Core i7 920 Processor LGA1366 2.66GHz 8MB Cache CPU

Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P MB

Kingston 6GB(3 X 2GB) DDR3-1333MHZ

Western Digital 500G SATAII 7200 rpm HDD Green Power

Samsung 2233SW 21.5 Wide Full HD LCD 5ms High Glossy Tilt DVI-D Black

Microsoft XP Pro X64 Ed (OEM)

POV 9600GT 1GB DDR2   



Edited on: Mon, Apr 27, 2009 at 9:09:12 AM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 27, 2009 at 8:34:13 PM | Good System Specs for Revit Architecture 2009??

#13

robert


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 30, 2004
89 Posts
No Rating


interresting reading.

any thoughts on glossy versus matt screens

people keep on mentionig reflections in a glossy screen

which could be a valid point in a large office environment

but for a sole operator this can be overcome by juggeling the lights

i got a glossy on my laptop which is great for presentations

at the moment i am thinking of buying a viewsonic vx2835wm approx $aus 850

this has a matt screen

any thoughts on this? 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

System Specs

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Thu, Feb 22, 2018 at 8:23:27 PM

3

Specs for laptop running Revit 2009?

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Oct 22, 2008 at 3:35:11 PM

1

better video card = better rendering? (revit architecture 2009)

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Sep 30, 2008 at 2:36:49 AM

4

E-specs and Revit

Community >> The Studio

Tue, May 1, 2007 at 11:13:59 PM

0

Autocad Architecture join the Revit Architecture Suite

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Aug 19, 2008 at 2:14:55 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1706601

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.7767

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights