RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

193 Users Online (65 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Keynote Legends

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 14, 2009 at 10:03:23 PM | Keynote Legends

#1

davbrink


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 1, 2008
43 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


I am not sure if what I want to do I can. We have differenct sets of keynotes for different items. IE Elevations, Wall Sections, Site Plan, etc. I know that you can set the keynote legend per sheet. The problem arrises when we want to keep all of the keynotes for the wall sections to be the same and we might have 2 or more sheets of wall sections. We do not want a #34 to be item "X" on one wall section and item "Y" on another wall section. Is there any way to accomplish this, if not in 2009 what about in 2010.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 14, 2009 at 10:10:52 PM | Keynote Legends

#2

davbrink


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 1, 2008
43 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


Why I am at it how come when I use the standard by sheet method and i have multiple items on multiple sheets, why do the text disappear when two sheets are usings a number one.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 12:28:24 PM | Keynote Legends

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


You have two choices, keynotes by sheet or keynotes by project.  By sheet - keynotes are numbered according to when they are placed.  By project - keynotes are numbered according to the keynote file.  If you want #34 to be the same on every sheet, then use by project.   Remember, REVIT doesn't care how you number them ... numeric or alpha-numeric, just as long as it is a unique identifier.

 

... if you want to do by sheet and match them, then you will need to manually place them in the same order - hard to do.

 

I do not understand your second post.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 1:56:47 PM | Keynote Legends

#4

davbrink


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 1, 2008
43 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


I was adding notes with everything set per sheet. For instance Sheet A has 5 notes and sheet B has 7. In my Keynote Legend the first five spaces are blank. The appear correctly on my sheet but not on the Legend View


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 2:20:55 PM | Keynote Legends

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


The legend, when added to the sheet, will be correct.... just ignore it when you look at it from the browser.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 2:28:58 PM | Keynote Legends

#6

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Unless it has been fixed, we were looking at this method too, and realized that when a keynote is assigned a number on one sheet, and then a different number on the next, the text for those numbers blanks out.  What we did instead is to use a Legend view, put our keynotes down like we would in cad, and then used a symbol to point them out instead.  This ended up being faster too, because you don't have to keep collapsing/expanding tree's in the keynote browser.  Also, this allows as you said, your wall sections to have a Wall Section Keynote Legend, and then your Floor Plans to have another.  As with CAD, these can all be changed from one central location.  The issue is As with CAD, changing a number requires you to change the keynote number everywhere.  I highly recommend not using the Revit Keynote system, but to get what you wanted (kinda) you need to create a new keynote schedule for each sheet you are going to place keynotes on (this will give you ONLY the keynotes used on that sheet).  I still recommend if you do it this way using number by project, at least then you get the same #across the board, so your general contractor doesn't memorize that a (5) is to align face of finish, and then later find out that on this sheet, it means to see a certain detail for additional information on the handrail.  Hope this helps

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 2:45:14 PM | Keynote Legends

#7

davbrink


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 1, 2008
43 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


That is how we are going to have to do it, I guess. That severally under utilizes the modelling capability of the program. Where you can click on the component in the wall and have predefined keynote populate your legend.

We are coming over from ADT where you could select everything on a VIEW, I.E. all your wall sections. Do you know if REVIT actually has an practicing architect on staff to tell the programmers how things are actually done. There have been a number of things that you can not edit that are so against the industry standard it boggles the mind. My biggest complaint about the program is that they force you to do it there way. Sorry for the rant it drives me nuts sometimes working with this program.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 2:53:39 PM | Keynote Legends

#8

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


I doubt it, we have had to come up with so many work-arounds to achieve what we want.  I'm of the mindset that you can't really come up with a decent set of CD docs, this app was great for SD and DD, but killed us on CD.  We ended up having to do half the project in CAD, but hey, this is our first project, so that is fairly typical, or so I hear.  I still don't think this program has the detailing, or understanding of construction down.  Like you said, I really doubt they have a practicing architect, or programmer on board.  Another method that you might try, run it in a test file first, is to use a shared parameter, place this in your objects throughout the project (most likely as a type based integer).  Then create a "keynote" tag family for each category that you need to keynote, and have this tag pull the shared parameter... 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 4:25:36 PM | Keynote Legends

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Guys ... I think you are still a little short in understanding REVIT.

History - Revit was actually started by Architects - for architects. - That's one reason why it is so much better than CAD.

 

Although we don't use keynotes as much as you may want to, I think you guys have only scratched the surface of their potential.  The power is there - you just have to learn how to use it.  Check out this tutorial for a start:

http://modocrmadt.blogspot.com/2008/02/i-am-frequently-asked-about-keynoting.html

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 5:26:18 PM | Keynote Legends

#10

davbrink


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 1, 2008
43 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


No doubt that the keynoting feature is powerful. To be able to pick out components and individual pieces and have them have imbedded info is great. But the problem that i have found with REVIT is you must do it there way. I have worked in 5 different firms and none of them diveded up the keynotes either way that Revit lets you. A couple of them did not use a legend and used text, for them this program would work great you just set all your tags to text only and away you go.  Each firm has a way of doing things when it comes to CDs. They want it to look a certain way, especially the design principals who generally just see the papre version and are a little more set in their ways. They have been doing it that way for 30 years. With AUTOCAD and ADT they had a workflow and standards as well but if you did not like it you could find a work around to get it to look right. With REVIT you can not you generally have to use the way they have set things up to do. Or at least that is my perception for someone who has working with the program for 5 months.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 5:45:00 PM | Keynote Legends

#11

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


THANKS WWHUB, I TAKE BACK WHAT I SAID, IT DOES WORK, ONCE YOU CHECK THE FILTER BY SHEET CHECK BOX. 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 15, 2009 at 6:59:36 PM | Keynote Legends

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


TABEST,  I've been using REVIT several years now and still do not know all of it's power....  We just have to keep pushing each other.  It really helps if you are not alone. 

 

davbrink - your right.  Many times REVIT will not do what you can do in AutoCAD - but for the mostpart, I find that to be a good thing.  Too many offices had bad CAD practices ... I've found that using REVIT requires you to think differently and not doing it the way we have always done it is usually a good thing.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Division Header for Keynote Legends?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 19, 2009 at 6:52:17 PM

1

keynotes and keynote legends

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 12, 2007 at 3:33:19 PM

1

Keynote Text in Schedules

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 11, 2014 at 9:45:04 PM

4

Keynote Legends

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 8, 2015 at 12:59:42 PM

1

Keynoting in legends

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 9:33:18 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1650538

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8061

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights