RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

65 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit ROI >> Revit 2010

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 3 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>

Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 7:23:14 PM | Revit 2010

#16

mongopac


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 16, 2007
41 Posts
No Rating


Well, somehow I must have registered, cuz I got emails from ADESK for having done so....Beats me how I did it....

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 24, 2009 at 12:52:22 PM | Revit 2010

#17

ryder217


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 15, 2006
5 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


One word... crosshairs... what a novel idea. The whole arrow thing always irritated me.  I'm liking the new setup, however, my keyboard shortcut for 'mirror' doesn't work anymore and additionally, I'm not a fan of how the mirror command is now two separate commands depending on how you want to select the axis.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 25, 2009 at 8:29:51 PM | Revit 2010

#18

jaff


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 19, 2009
6 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Very frustraded with RAC2010 the new UI it acutally slows me down. I was hoping to see some real improvements, hence, the text could have been more user friendly like mtext in autoCAD. Design options completly changed I don't like it at all and why autodesk figured out a way to use the text and dimensions in each option set separate from the main model. 2010 is slower than 2009. I feel cheated, all they changed is cosmetic stuff not the functionality of the software.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Apr 26, 2009 at 5:37:16 AM | Revit 2010

#19

flattopafro


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Got to agree with Jaff in terms of slowing things down. Just sumple things like the 'align' tool. Why do I now have to enter a seperate menu to do it when it was just there staring you in the face before along with all of the other tools that you use constantly.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 29, 2009 at 8:19:07 AM | Revit 2010

#20

wendys


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 11, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


I just revceived notice from the IT guys at my office that Revit 2010 was in their hands, and I was welcome to install it if I iwshed (I am the only one in the office that uses it). 

From what I read it seems split, that some love it and some hate it.  Any "non-biased" suggestions out there?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 29, 2009 at 8:50:52 PM | ryder217

#21

RolyNZ


active
RolyNZ Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
11 Posts
4 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting ryder217 from 2009-04-24 12:52:22

... I'm not a fan of how the mirror command is now two separate commands depending on how you want to select the axis."

 
 

Me too, I usually draw the mirror axis, so now select the item to be mirrored, "find" the mirror command, (i will get better at that) select it, go to draw the line, oh wrong mirror command, go back try again, make sure you get the small pull down arrow, yep got it, now i'm back to normal... So next time I use it, I expect it will remember that's the one I used, oh no it doesn't. OK I use that method heaps so I will make a keyboard shortcut, ah no I won't, It doesn't appear to exist in the keyoard shortcut file, OK I will drag it up to the quick access toolbar, no I won't, I can only do it with the mirror pick axis button. Grrr. Any ideas??? VERY INCONSISTENT-I don't hate the new interface, I guess it's progress, it doesn't make things any quicker, but it's a bit more intuitive.

-I would like to REDUCE the number of clicks to any one command. - Especially finding content...(It's definitely better than 09) Any chance of ADT style "TOOLPALLETES" ?


-----------------------------------

www.Crawshaw Architecture.co.nz

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 1, 2009 at 6:33:39 PM | Revit 2010

#22

MikeChan


active

Joined: Fri, May 13, 2005
61 Posts
3 Stars: 5 Votes


For the Revit 2010, I cannot really say that is a disappointment, but certainly it is not impressive. The new UI is a hard one to be justified, it might affect the normal productivities for start, but if you used to use shortcut keys like me, I found that the impact is very minor.

The new Massing modeling approach and the new curtain pattern layout certainly are “a piece of work”, I still trying to gain more control over those new tools.

Overall, I feel a bit disappointed Autodesk didn’t focus on the root of Revit, improving the performance of documentation.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, May 6, 2009 at 2:53:47 PM | Revit 2010

#23

Podge


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 5, 2009
1 Posts
No Rating


We first got into revit in 2009, with hired tutorial help, etc. it was the worst crap I ever messed with !!.. (we're strictly MEP). We abandonded the idea of using it, just because we didn't want to invest a lot of man-hours to make it work for us. (isn't that what a software company is suppose to do anyway ?).. We heard of the newly improved 2010. Very reluctant to try it, but right out of the box, it worked miracles compared to 2009 out of the box. The ribbons are easy for me to use, just because i've been used to Autocad 2009's ribbons. There are still a few bugs, and things i'd wish it would do, and can't see why it won't... but I've been messing with it since it first came out, and so far, i'm really impressed.


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2009 at 8:06:40 PM | Revit 2010

#24

rgvjr


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 17, 2007
19 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Tell me AlphaDDC07, where the Orient with other Views options is found in the Ribbon interface?

 Like you I am hoping "to enjoy the simpler, easier to use and expecting huge productivity gains", meantime it is cramping my style....and hindering my progress....

 My opinion is they should have not released improvement like this until it becomes even remotely comparable to what you can do to customize its sister Autocad interface.

Like Autocad, the power user's best route to productivity is these keyboard shortcuts.. the lest they can do is provide a migration program to port the old shortcuts to the new ones.....not requiring us to build it from the start.....

Cheers. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2009 at 8:27:46 PM | Revit 2010

#25

rgvjr


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 17, 2007
19 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Well....I found it......almost like an easter egg hunt........oh....crap....

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2009 at 8:36:29 PM | Revit 2010

#26

will2play


active
will2play Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 10, 2008
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


It's a Free Recording
The title says it all
Revit 2010 Join Class
AND REALLY MATTERS

-----------------------------------

www.will2play.com

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, May 20, 2009 at 11:45:58 PM | Revit 2010

#27

Mitsunobu


active
Mitsunobu Avatar

Joined: Thu, May 31, 2007
7 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Does anyone know why the RME content library is not there yet? MEP is the only one missing.

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 21, 2009 at 9:00:02 AM | Revit 2010

#28

Mitsunobu


active
Mitsunobu Avatar

Joined: Thu, May 31, 2007
7 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Nevermind, got an answer:

Yes, Revit MEP library content has been fully migrated to Seek.  Thanks,JunJun ShimSenior Product ManagerAutodesk Content Network

Now if only Manufacturers hired all these unemployed 3d designers, we could actually have some decent MEP content

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 21, 2009 at 5:26:10 PM | Revit 2010

#29

kirchmer


active

Joined: Mon, May 21, 2007
7 Posts
No Rating


Yeah i have to say - i wanted to give the interface a change and not reject it outright.... but all i can say after working with it for a few weeks is that it really sucks. i have always praised revit for not following autocad's path of simply changing the user interface and releasing a new version. but it seems that autodesk's business model is having an impact on revit as well. too bad.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 17, 2009 at 3:53:17 PM | Revit 2010

#30

Wolfmann16


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 25, 2007
38 Posts
No Rating


The new interface is great once you break it in....and the biggest plus I found is that the ribbon is deconstructable.  You can pull off your most common used tools and have them always available which makes the transition a lot easier.

Attached Images

61338_Menus.JPG

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 3 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Opening a 2010 file in 2009

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 8:51:56 AM

3

2010 classic [ 1 2 3 4 5 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 8, 2010 at 9:25:30 AM

70

Have they fixed 2010 yet? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 9:29:22 AM

24

Revit 2010 - Family Standards and Best Practices (Paperback) by Shawn Zirbes [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 4:05:18 PM

19

Revit 2010 [ 1 2 ]

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 9:38:41 AM

16

Site Stats

Members:

1966732

Objects:

22852

Forum Posts:

152164

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5388

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights