RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

225 Users Online (70 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit ROI >> Revit 2010

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 8:46:59 PM | Revit 2010

#1

AlphaDDC07


active
AlphaDDC07 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Apr 8, 2009
16 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


Well I think the time we’ve all been waiting for is finally here… Revit has grown up. With a new UI, robust and easy-to-use conceptual modeling tools, 3ds-max and SketchUp users who’ve been reluctant to change to Revit for schematic design, have no more reason not to. I for one am really excited about the UI change. This has been circling the rumor mill for years and it’s finally here. While some don’t like the ribbon UI, it’s something that after working with for a couple weeks, you’ll notice it’s simpler & easier to use. I think we’ll see some huge productivity gains (hopefully along with stability) with the new Revit Architecture 2010.

In terms of the release date of Revit 2010, I can say with confidence you can expect it in early April based on the last couple years of release dates:

Autodesk Revit Architecture 2009: April 15Autodesk Revit Architecture 2008: April 5th


-----------------------------------

Twelve highlanders and a bagpipe make a rebellion.

 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 9:03:27 PM | Revit 2010

#2

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


do you often plagiarize articles word for word?

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 5:58:45 AM | Revit 2010

#3

AlphaDDC07


active
AlphaDDC07 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Apr 8, 2009
16 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


 Well spotted alabaster2513.

 

lol not normally no, just thought that most other Revit users are as exited as I am for the new and improved Revit 2010. Seen the article on an Email that I was sent and thought I would pass it on.


-----------------------------------

Twelve highlanders and a bagpipe make a rebellion.

 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 9:39:12 PM | Revit 2010

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Revit 2010 has been available for a week now from the subscription centre.  People should've started receiving their CD's as of yesterday...


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Apr 18, 2009 at 2:57:37 PM | Revit 2010

#5

flattopafro


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


I've just been trying to use it and my 1st impressions aren't great. I know its early days and I'm sure that I'll 'get used' to the new ribbon interface but why on earth was it put in place anyway. The original Revit interface was one of its most powerful features, almost every modify tool you needed was there on screen and now I feel the process is slowed as you have to now go into another menu to access them.

No additions to the render material libraries!!. How hard would that have been to improve. Seriously.

 V    e     r     y          s     l      o      o       o       w     screen refresh rates compared to 2009 as well. I only have it installed on the 32-bit partition of my machine at present but still, it didn't do that on 2009 with exactly the same model.

And its crashed out the 1st time I went to insert some text

 

Bloody disappointing


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 18, 2009 at 3:12:52 PM | Revit 2010

#6

flattopafro


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


5 minutes later and I've given it another go and asked the program to do the very demanding process of 'pan'.

Hey presto it crashed again.

 

Hope this isn't turning out to be a white elephant.

 

PS I have a dual core machine with 4GB of RAM working on a 40mb model. I think I'll try the 64 bit version now and see if it fares any better


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 18, 2009 at 4:14:54 PM | Revit 2010

#7

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


same thing happened to me...take a look at your graphics acceleration i know the direct3d was not liking the quadro fx 4600 from nvidea...

-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Apr 18, 2009 at 4:25:05 PM | Revit 2010

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hi, I don't know if this solve the problem but look this from other blog:

Edited on: Sat, Apr 18, 2009 at 11:25:41 AM

Attached Images

57289_error.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, Apr 19, 2009 at 8:10:55 AM | Revit 2010

#9

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


In Revit 2010, it is very important to ensure you have the absolutely latest drivers for your video card...

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 20, 2009 at 5:16:05 AM | Revit 2010

#10

AlphaDDC07


active
AlphaDDC07 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Apr 8, 2009
16 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


 I think the new ribbon interface for Revit is a load of nonsense why change what is not broken. I have not had any issue with revit 2010 crashing yet but I do find the rendering to take a hell of a lot longer than previous versions.!!!

-----------------------------------

Twelve highlanders and a bagpipe make a rebellion.

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 20, 2009 at 11:11:00 AM | Revit 2010

#11

Space


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 15, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Teh crashing is most probially caused by old drivers.  Revit 2010 now uses direct X hardware accelaration, ensure you have the latest drivers for your graphics card. Revit 2010 actually runs faster that 2009 on my PC.

The new Revit interface is very very intuitave after a few days use and I am now finding when I have to use Revit 2009 (for revisiting old jobs), it feels dated in comparason.

 The slower rendering I agree is slower (by around 20%), i wouldnt be surprised if this is intentional to promote the use of MAX which is also one of Autodesks products. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 20, 2009 at 4:56:14 PM | Revit 2010

#12

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I had many issues at first with 2010 and performance but now that I am using the latest nvidia drivers I am having better performance than any previous version using openGL. When I have Direct3D enabled I can pan, zoom, and rotate faster than ever even with shadows on. Much much faster.

 The ribbon interface has been adopted to align all autodesk products in the future to have the same look and feel. I personally find the new look refreshing and intellegent eventhough minorly frustrating. Use 2010 for 6 months then go BACK to 2009 and see how you like it.... becuase you won't.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 22, 2009 at 7:50:04 PM | Revit 2010

#13

ohkelly


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 4, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


Quoting alabaster2513 from 2009-04-20 11:56:14"

 The ribbon interface has been adopted to align all autodesk products in the future to have the same look and feel. I personally find the new look refreshing and intellegent eventhough minorly frustrating.

"

 

My sentiments exactly. It is a little slow on my machine, but I like the UI, especially when I consider how nice it will be to see uniform Autodesk UIs across 3dsmax, autocad, and revit.

 

I've been using it for five minutes and I don't want to switch back to 09. 



Edited on: Wed, Apr 22, 2009 at 3:08:42 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 3:13:19 PM | Revit 2010

#14

flattopafro


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Checked my driver for the latest updates on the nvidia website and they were up to date (Intel(R) G965 Express Chipset). The check box for Direct3D was not checked, although I have no idea what that does anyway. Anybody have any more ideas?

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 8:43:40 PM | Revit 2010

#15

mongopac


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 16, 2007
41 Posts
No Rating


Well, I got my CD, loaded it, found the new UI, swore a bit, couldn't find anything, got frustrated, shut it down, went home, came back, fired it up......and after some muddling, decided.....I like it.

 It does take some getting used to, but I think its pretty cool.

One issue...Standalone license...For some reason, at loading, it prompted me for the serial number which I gave it, then asked if I wanted to register...yes, and then it gave me a number and then.....nothing.....never could get back to a place to enter the number....now its working, but it won't let me register the thing and under the "license" section it says I have a "non-expiring license", which would be great if true, but what heck does that mean?  Is it registered or not?  I'm thinking not...but the "register" button on the licence info page is dimmed and inaccessible. Is this a good thing?

Another question.  I use Revit on my office machine and also on my laptop.  So there is this thing called "license transfer utility" seemingly to transfer the license between machines....Ugh......Tell me that won't be necessary....Please....what a pain that sounds like just to take work on the road or home for the weekend..


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Opening a 2010 file in 2009

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:51:56 PM

3

2010 classic [ 1 2 3 4 5 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 8, 2010 at 2:25:30 PM

70

Have they fixed 2010 yet? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 3:29:22 PM

24

Revit 2010 - Family Standards and Best Practices (Paperback) by Shawn Zirbes [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 9:05:18 PM

19

Revit 2010 [ 1 2 ]

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 2:38:41 PM

16

Site Stats

Members:

1668174

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7155

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights