RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

227 Users Online (105 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Sketchup to Revit material problem

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Mon, Mar 29, 2010 at 4:01:50 AM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#16

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Just go to Settings-->Materials...& change your materials there....

Attached Images

74426_2010-03-282158.png74426_3D_View_1.jpg

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 29, 2010 at 4:13:35 AM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#17

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Here an example.....

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 29, 2010 at 7:06:21 AM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#18

Neha


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 25, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


I did that but it didnt work. Ive been trying for the last 3 days... And I need it for my presentation on Wednesday. Do you think you could chang the materials for me for the 3 scooters and attach the revit file?

Thanks so much for your time.

Neha 

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=2014fcf2610bd1f9888c63889038e736&prevstart=0

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=f755120a0ab235eec812e349657a0b80&ct=mdrm&prevstart=0 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 29, 2010 at 4:04:37 PM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#19

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Here your Scooter...

Attached Images

74444_3D_View_1.jpg

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 29, 2010 at 4:41:18 PM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#20

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Your Vespa 200.....

Attached Images

74446_3D_View_1.jpg

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 29, 2010 at 4:45:16 PM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#21

Neha


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 25, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


Thank you so much!!! I really need to know how to do it though for my Graduation project for next year..

cheers neha


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 23, 2010 at 2:25:40 AM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#22

ethand


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 27, 2010
15 Posts
No Rating


I'm using revit architecture 2010, and I cant figure out how to get to object styles... can anyone help???

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 23, 2010 at 4:12:49 AM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#23

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Manage-->Settings-->Object Styles.....

Edited on: Tue, Jun 22, 2010 at 11:14:40 PM

Attached Images

78404_2010-06-222213.png

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 29, 2010 at 7:35:59 PM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#24

EVarvel


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 21, 2007
3 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hey Guys,

First let me say thanks for the great information on the SU to Revit Conversions.  I've done everything correctly and now can get materials to change on my SU Based Revit Families I create.

There is one problem I am running into though that is stumping me and maybe you all have some insight on this.

So times the materials dont map right to the surfaces in Revit after I've gone through the conversion process.  Specifically, certain wall materials.  For example: I bring in a four walled house with pitched roof.  I change the materials accordingly.  Then I render.  The roof shingles look correct but things like a brick wall or a stone wall dont map correctly.  The Brick (or what ever texture is there but is "streaking" up and down the wall, like its been stretched.  I cant' map or adjust surfaces in Revit like I could in Max.  Is there something I need to do in the SU model before exporting it out?  Rotating the material in Revit or rescaling it doesn't work.  Any suggestions?

Thanks again for all your input.

EVarvel


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 30, 2010 at 11:19:52 AM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#25

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


You are importing "Walls and Roofs" from SU to Revit? why? you can create that in Revit, i only import from SU things i can't do in Revit like cars or bikes.

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 30, 2010 at 12:14:49 PM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#26

EVarvel


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 21, 2007
3 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Well, I agree whole heartedly with you about doing it in Revit, and I do 95% of all my modeling in Revit.  Unfortunately certain others in our firm insist on developing ideas in Sketchup and always seem to not be happy with the quality of renderings of the renders their Sketchup models produce (using various render plugins for Sketchup).  Some of these models are pretty detailed and at this point, remodeling the whole thing in Revit is not a choice due to time and money (Even though good money will be spent down the road trying to create working drawings since all they have is the SU model). 

So I was asked about getting the SU models into revit fairly quickly so I could render some images for them.  And I've been researching the possibilities of this for these models.  I've followed your process to change materials and thats no problem and I know I could create a mass family from the SU model but the time involved with converting all the detail would be just as time consuming as startiing over in revit. But if this streaking is going to be an unsolvable problem then I dont see the worth of trying to do this for them.  Trying to get these folks to just start the projects in Revit is not a battle I want to wage even though I could produce a good revit Model in less time then they are producing the SU models (I've uploaded three renders of mine I modeled and rendered with revit to the Gallery last night to show the kind of modeling I generally do).  Some people are just stubborn an refuse to get on board fully with Revit from the Get go.

So if there is no solution to this streaking then so be it.  I will tell them no bet and move on.  But I am always interested in trying to help the best I can and figure out whats not been done yet and this is one of those situations.

So is there a solution or should I just tell them "No bet, you should have started in Revit"?

 Thanks,

EVarvel


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 30, 2010 at 4:58:37 PM | Sketchup to Revit material problem

#27

EVarvel


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 21, 2007
3 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Okay, never mind my question (unless you have an answer).  I just exported the SU file to an FBX file.  Then took it into Max to render.  With a little adjustment to materials and what not, problem solved for the Sketchup-heads I work with.

Thanks for listening anyway!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 4:04:46 PM

24

Need Help - Sketchup To Revit Layers

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 4:37:08 PM

0

Sketchup model into Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jan 8, 2013 at 6:06:20 PM

3

when exporting from sketchup to revit - urgent problem!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 9, 2011 at 2:25:46 PM

2

PROBLEM with assigning materials in imported components from Sketchup

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Oct 23, 2011 at 10:01:41 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1758799

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3953

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights