RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

341 Users Online (167 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit 2010 Video Cards

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Apr 3, 2009 at 2:38:45 PM | Revit 2010 Video Cards

#1

sanio


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Hi All!

 In the system recommendations for Revit 2010 it is stated that you will need a " Dedicated video card with hardware support for directX 9 (or later)

Does anyone know what would be a good card that fits this recommendation.

I am looking for application in an architecture office environment, which will exclude high-end gaming cards (unfortunately :-) )

 

Thanks & Best regards,

Sanio


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 3, 2009 at 4:27:26 PM | Revit 2010 Video Cards

#2

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I use both Nvidia Quadro FX series and ATI FireGL series workstation cards, both support directx9 and seem to support 2010 quite nicely, even my laptop Nvidia geforce 7950 gtxs seem to work ok. The performance isnt GREAT!! but it is improved.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 3, 2009 at 4:50:26 PM | Revit 2010 Video Cards

#3

sanio


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Great! That means something like a geforce 8600gt 256mb, which retails at around 50$-60$ would do the job?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 5:52:06 AM | Revit 2010 Video Cards

#4

AlphaDDC07


active
AlphaDDC07 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Apr 8, 2009
16 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


All design packages say that you have to have a dedicated graphics card. But from the reviews that I have read up on say that a shared graphics system will work.

If you do have the money for a dedicated graphics card, go for one that has accelerated graphics as this will improve the overall loading time of the graphics for any windows program.

Hope this info can help you!!

 


-----------------------------------

Twelve highlanders and a bagpipe make a rebellion.

 

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 28, 2009 at 8:04:33 PM | Revit 2010 Video Cards

#5

jche


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 4, 2008
22 Posts
No Rating


well, turns out ATI cards can give you a hard time if you want to use the DirectX acceleration - I tried 4 different ones in 3 different computers (could be a Vista problem) and had problems plotting (weird that it is connected) - elements were randomly missing which could be a serious issue as you can imagine.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 27, 2009 at 5:38:29 AM | Revit 2010 Video Cards

#6

edrikzs


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 26, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


does video cards reduce time in revit rendering ?

 

I'm going to buy a new pc soon...

here's what's on my list 

 

 [Mother Board] - [LGA1366] Asus P6T Deluxe V2

 [Processor] - Intel™ Core™ i7 920 2.66 ghz 8mb 4.8 GT/s

 [RAM DDR3] OCZ 6gb (triple) ddr3-1333 pc3-10600 OCZ3G1333LV6GK (Gold Edition)

 [VGA PCIE] Palit GTS 250 1gb/256bit ddr3 (maybe I'll buy 2 if video cards would reduce rendering time)

 [HDD] Seagate 1tb/32mb 7200.11 (ST31000340AS) sata

 Cooler Master (RC-590) Centurion 590 atx w/o psu black

 HEC 700watts Cougar CM Series

 

 is this a good setup?



Edited on: Mon, Jul 27, 2009 at 12:40:30 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 8, 2009 at 7:36:13 AM | Revit 2010 Video Cards

#7

Ryguy3498


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
1 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


The graphics card has nothing to do with rendering time. As soon as you hit "render", its all about the CPU. With that said, in Revit's model performance tech spec sheets, they clearly say that Revit will not use more than 4 cores for rendering. So getting a 2x4-core set up is worthless. Also, a quadro (or any workstation) card is not necessary. All you need is a current card with some decent specs. The graphics card is used more for when you are modeling in Revit and model regeneration. 

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

revit 2010 video card

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 8:58:37 AM

1

video cards

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Fri, Mar 6, 2009 at 4:24:11 PM

8

What is the name of the file that lists the accepted video cards in Revit ?

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Thu, Sep 5, 2013 at 1:09:14 PM

10

Dual video cards

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Nov 24, 2010 at 9:27:00 PM

0

Revit 2010 - Graphics Card - Nvidia Vs ATI

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 12, 2010 at 3:07:33 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1651800

Objects:

22100

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 16.5080

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights