RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

263 Users Online (118 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> drawing lines over a tike floor

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 3:31:34 PM | drawing lines over a tike floor

#1

barcardi


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 22, 2007
29 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Revit Architecture 2009

 Ok so i have this floor over a concrete slab.  It is a different floor because there are various types of carpet, tile, and other materials on the slab.  But now i am trying to draw the ADA lines on one tile floor.  These lines disappear below onto the slab, where the floor itself is located. Is there any way to raise those lines about an inch or so in order to make them visible to the floor plan view?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 5:51:49 PM | drawing lines over a tike floor

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Don't use model lines .... you should be using detail lines anyway.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 7:31:45 PM | drawing lines over a tike floor

#3

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I agree with using detail lines, however if the lines need to show up on different plans (ie floor plan, enlarged floor plan, etc) and you still want to use model lines, do the following:

 

1.  Create a new reference plane at the level of the top of the tile.  Be sure to name it (ie "top of finish floor"Winking

2.  Select the lines, click edit work plane from the options bar and then select the reference plane you just created from the drop down list and say OK.

 

I believe the issue is that you are drawing the lines at the top of the slab, but then drawing tile over that which is hiding the lines. 


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 8:29:17 PM | drawing lines over a tike floor

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


LIZARD... I disagree...

If you want the lines in more than one view then just copy clip / past current view in the other views where they are required.

 

If they are ADA lines, you might consider doing them as an annotation family.  Much easier to place...except if its just the circle.  


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 8:37:44 PM | drawing lines over a tike floor

#5

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


to-may-to, to-mah-to.

 

I prefer using detail lines that are grouped, myself, otherwise everytime the client wants to revise his layout, I need to change the detail lines in several different views.  My layouts include all the required clearances, including the turnign radius.  Having identical detail lines on several different drawings just screams of possible innacuracies;  which is, in my view the benefit of Revit; I don't have to worry about those innacuracies.

That being said, if you note, I did say I agree with you, but if barcardi wants to do it with model lines, he is entitled to do it his way and his question was how to do it, not what the best way to draw ADA lines is.  I felt my explanation did, however answer both of those questions.

 

 


-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 10:15:26 PM | drawing lines over a tike floor

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


I am just a real stickler for keeping things straight.  ADA clearances and other annotation elements are 2D - therefore they stay 2D.  If the question was about adding patterns or showing divisions between finishes on the floor, then I might use model lines or split face.

 

As far as grouping goes... I agree, that would work just as well as a detail family (and I am correcting my previous post - it should have been a detail-not annotation family since it has to scale) but I would group them as 2D lines and place copy/paste into the correct views.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 10:21:15 PM | drawing lines over a tike floor

#7

barcardi


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 22, 2007
29 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


thanks for the prompt replies, ill try the detail lines... and figure out how i want the 2d 3d issue to work later.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Drawing lines on floor plans

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 19, 2017 at 5:54:00 PM

1

Faint lines showing from ground floor on first floor

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 10, 2012 at 10:40:33 PM

2

Show ceiling/roof lines as hidden lines on floor plan

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 5:24:44 PM

6

how to show lines below a higher floor?

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Sep 24, 2007 at 7:05:27 PM

4

(Dumb question) Can't see first floor when in second floor view [Revit 2015]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2015 at 11:11:13 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1491636

Objects:

21156

Forum Posts:

151137

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4072

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights