RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

259 Users Online (105 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Area Tag on Floor Plan

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Mar 27, 2009 at 3:11:08 PM | Area Tag on Floor Plan

#1

christophercarlsson


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 2, 2008
38 Posts
No Rating


Hi!

 

On our drawings, I need to be able to show the apartments total area alongside with all other information (dimensions, tags etc)

Is this possible without using Area Plans?

 

I would like to see a tool similar to Room, that could be used for whole apartments.

 

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Christopher


This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 27, 2009 at 4:22:31 PM | Area Tag on Floor Plan

#2

afc4


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
91 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


Use a room seperation line that just does the over all building and have the tag just show the total area.

 If you want to add seperate rooms thought you are going to need to create an area plan. Also the area tool is very much the same as the room tool.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 6:25:33 AM | Area Tag on Floor Plan

#3

christophercarlsson


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 2, 2008
38 Posts
No Rating


Shame though that you cant use the area tag on Floor Plans. This is where I would need to use it.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 12:14:44 PM | Area Tag on Floor Plan

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


What you could do is add a parameter to you rooms ... apartment #, fill that in for each unit, then add a schedule that filters by aprtment number and totals each apartment area.  Place that on your floor plan sheet.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 12:23:48 PM | Area Tag on Floor Plan

#5

christophercarlsson


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 2, 2008
38 Posts
No Rating


I've thought of that aswell, but it's then we loose the automation in it which is a shame.

But from what I have found there is not really any "perfect" way of doing this, without using Area Plans.

 

It would have been perfect if Areas worked in the same way as Rooms.

 

Thanks for all the answers

 

/chris



Edited on: Mon, Mar 30, 2009 at 7:24:18 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 4, 2015 at 8:41:09 PM | Area Tag on Floor Plan

#6

wrs87


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 1, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


Seemingly long dead thread, but a solution I've used in the past, is the mechanical Spaces & Zones in the Analyze tab.  You have to create spaces (either instead of, or in addition to rooms), and then Zones allows you to add multiple spaces as a means of grouping the spaces.  You can create a zone tag that looks like a room tag and it can report on the gross area of the attributed spaces.

One drawback (depending on your calc standards), spaces assume to wall face, and therefore total zone square footage will not include any area used by walls that divide that unit into rooms.  So a 30' x 40' apartment wouldn't report as 1200sf, it would be 1200 sf minus the area of the partition walls.  I have not found, as yet, a function that can force spaces to calculate to center of wall like you can with rooms.

Would be handy if Autodesk would port over the same functionality that Zones have relative to Spaces but for Rooms.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 29, 2020 at 9:43:59 AM | Area Tag on Floor Plan

#7

leesonnick


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 3, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi is there a way to bring the total area as calculated in a schedule back into a tag?

or can a total be calculated within a tag?

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 29, 2020 at 12:16:46 PM | Area Tag on Floor Plan

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


The only calculation available in a tag is that which is defined in the tag creation.  I don't see any means of doing that from a schedule.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

tagging the surface area of a floor (revit2009)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 3, 2010 at 5:14:36 PM

2

Area Tag issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 12, 2006 at 3:45:15 PM

3

Show area calc without using Area Tag?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 5:15:07 PM

2

Area from Area plan to show on floor plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 28, 2009 at 1:53:29 AM

2

Area Tags

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 22, 2008 at 8:00:35 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1533864

Objects:

21325

Forum Posts:

151333

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1190

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights