RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

207 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Wall footing - breaks at inserts

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Mar 20, 2009 at 2:25:54 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#1

minfante


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 4, 2008
15 Posts
No Rating


Anyone know why my wall footings breaks when an opening extends down to the bottom of the host wall.  I tried both check and unchecked for the type parameter.  Always breaks.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 20, 2009 at 2:56:35 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#2

mholzer


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 27, 2008
23 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


This has happened to me and the wall footing will jump to the top of the opening thinking that the wall is simply stepping up.  To keep the footing from breaking I extended the opening to just above the bottom of the wall.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 20, 2009 at 3:01:20 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#3

minfante


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 4, 2008
15 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the response.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 6:41:58 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#4

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


ok . . . I'm having this same problem.  I copy/monitored the architect's walls into my structural model.  Of course the door openings came with the walls and are also monitored.  the sill elevation for the door openings is at 0'-0" (same as FFE).  And my wall footings are breaking at either side of the door opening IN SPITE of having the appropriate type parameter checked.  And the former solution DOES WORK, but this is a large building with loads of doors.  Surely there's a better solution.  What causes this?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 8:42:59 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#5

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


It's a copy / monitor issue with the openings.

I usually uncheck the opening option in the copy / monitor dialog...then place my own openings.

I stop monitoring, place my openings, then continue monitoring my walls to theirs...this way Revit will track their openings to my wall and if they move a door I get notified.

 

The issue is with how Revit is generating the openings that get created during the copy / monitor command.

Revit generates the copied opening using the wall opening command insead of using the door command.

To test this, draw a wall and place a "door" in revit strucure. Then, on the same wall, draw an opening using the wall opening command. Then add your footing and you should get a result similar to what you are describing.



Edited on: Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 2:51:31 PM

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 8:59:04 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#6

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


THANK YOU!  That was brilliant!  I'm going to have a TON of work to do. Smile


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 9:00:40 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#7

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


Glad I could help you out.

 

At least now you know for the future to avoid rework.

We'll just call it a Revit "feature"

Great program, just has its little quirks about it.


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 9:24:56 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#8

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


ok, so I can delete the existing opening (brought in with copy/monitor) and then insert my own door opening (which is a cool family that I created with lintel that I can tag and schedule).  Will that opening be monitored so that if they move theirs (and they will), I'll be notified?

Or, do I have to turn monitoring off for the wall, then delete their wall opening, then insert mine, and THEN turn monitoring back on for the wall?  Is that what you're saying?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 9:40:01 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#9

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


I would make a test file for this so you can get a process written down.

I have seen it not work when I have stopped the monitor process after the openings are placed as well as before.

Somedays it seems to be a crap shoot.


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 4:48:18 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#10

JohnnyMHP


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


I have a question about Walls, not sure if this is a good place to ask but I dont know where to start. Im trying to draw two 8" concrete walls on the same grid line but with an inch gap. For some reason Revit auto conects the two but I don't need them connected to eachother! Is there a setting to turn this off? Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 4:53:26 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#11

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


If you don't want the autojoin, you can turn it off by right clicking on the walls grip and picking dissallow join from the shortcut menu.

Other wise, you can split the wall with a gap.


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 5:24:05 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#12

JohnnyMHP


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


I have a question about Walls, not sure if this is a good place to ask but I dont know where to start. Im trying to draw two 8" concrete walls on the same grid line but with an inch gap. For some reason Revit auto conects the two but I don't need them connected to eachother! Is there a setting to turn this off? Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 5:36:01 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


Right click on the end of the wall and turn off wall join function.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 5:48:20 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#14

JohnnyMHP


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Good Child It worked on Revit Arch 2009... But it doesn't seem to work on 2010!

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 5:54:53 PM | Wall footing - breaks at inserts

#15

JohnnyMHP


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


WWHUB & GOODCHILD Thanks I figured it out!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Continuous Wall Footing ?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 6:59:47 PM

13

Problem when applying a footing to wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 6:58:50 PM

4

lower interior footing to match foundation wall footing

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 5, 2019 at 9:06:52 PM

3

Wall profile footing issure

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 3, 2014 at 12:06:49 PM

2

Double footing problem - plz help??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 15, 2012 at 9:24:50 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1605978

Objects:

21959

Forum Posts:

151570

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0031

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights