RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

218 Users Online (117 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Working in Perspective View

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Mar 19, 2009 at 11:02:19 AM | Working in Perspective View

#1

kgvogel


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 26, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


I have been working on Revit for 3 months now. Previously I worked on AutoCAD, Architectural Desktop, Sketchup, and 3D studio Max.

A major advantage for me in Sketchup (as well as 3D Max and even Architectural Desktop) is that you can revolve and work in Axonometric AND Perspective. In revit you can only work in Axonometric and even then you are limited in what tools you can use . Perspective is only available when placing a camera, and then even less tools are available than in Axonometric view, and you are not able to work in this view.

Revit has so many advantages, one beeing that you have a 3D model of your building at all times. But it is very unlogocal that Revit is not able to revolve and work in 3D perspective, as that is the way that one would view the building and for me a major limitation.

Conclusion: The 3D element of Revit has more potential than what currently exists. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 19, 2009 at 2:53:42 PM | Working in Perspective View

#2

wheelergc


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 9, 2007
62 Posts
No Rating


Check out the videos on youtube showing the new interface and modeling tools.  Talking about it today i was told it is similar to max in being able to push and pull objects in the 3D enviroment.  Stick with the porgram just keeps getting better with each release.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 1, 2009 at 10:23:25 PM | Working in Perspective View

#3

jlevard


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


2010 still doesn't address this issue.  It seems so obvious that being able to manipulate objects in perspective is critical to the design process.  We still export our models out to Sketchup so we can easily get inside of them, spin around, and make design changes.  Revit creates this great 3d model, but doesn't let you take advantage of it.  I guess I'll have to wait until 2011.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 5:41:21 PM | Working in Perspective View

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


I'm not sure what you are saying you can't do.  No - you can't do some things in the true perspective but you can do almost everything else in the axonometric and that should be sufficient.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 6:03:30 PM | Working in Perspective View

#5

jlevard


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


In my opinion, the default 3d axonometric view is very limiting.  If I want to go inside my building and move some walls around, I have to hide all of the exterior stuff to see inside or switch back and forth between a perspective camera view and a 2d view.  With perspective view you can also get a better representation of the building, object, etc. while you are manipulating it.  It would make Revit a much better design aid if editing in perspective were possible.  This is a standard feature in most, if not all, other 3D modelling tools that I've used (max, formz, sketchup, rhino, etc.).  I'm curious what is limiting the Revit developers from making this available?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 6:07:34 PM | Working in Perspective View

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


Although it's not as flexible as a perspective, you might try section boxes for working in interior areas if you have not used them already.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 6:11:34 PM | Working in Perspective View

#7

jlevard


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


Thanks, I've used the section box as a work around and it's a cool tool.


Edited on: Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 1:13:07 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 7:09:59 AM | Working in Perspective View

#8

kgvogel


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 26, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


What I'm saying is that you can't work in perspective. I'm not implying that its limiting, I'm saying the option simply does not exist. I'm not aware of any other 3D software where you can't 'work' in perspective. It almost defies the point of having 3D. The only way to 'view' your building in perspective is with a camera, but this is only one fixed view, and then you can't work on your model or even revolve around it. 

What I mean by the Axonometric view being limiting, is precisely that. A simple example is that you can't measure when in 3D, even when you click on the view cube and move to an elevation.The section box also only helps that much, because again, once you need to 'work' on your model, you have to draw an actual section line anyway..

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 11:23:32 AM | Working in Perspective View

#9

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 195 Votes


KGVOGEL, you said "What I mean by the Axonometric view being limiting, is precisely that. A simple example is that you can't measure when in 3D, even when you click on the view cube and move to an elevation" - WRONG, you can dimension in 3D, what you must to do before is choose the "Workplane" you want then you can dimension....

And, we are talking in Revit 2009, right???

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 2:20:17 PM | Working in Perspective View

#10

kgvogel


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 26, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


TYPHOON, I’m aware and I would agree that once one gets the hang of reference planes you can do ‘most’ things in Axonometric view. Yet, in this example you are talking about ‘Dimensioning’. In the piece that you quoted you’ll see I used the word ‘Measuring’. These two are not the same. This is the little ruler under the 'Modify’ tab, not the permanent dimension under the ‘Annotation’ tab that you are referring to.The original reason for this thread though is less about the limitations with the axonometric view, but more about the limitations in the Perspective view, or for that matter the lack of a workable perspective view.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 2:24:04 PM | Working in Perspective View

#11

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 195 Votes


Kgvogel, sorry, my mistake....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, Feb 8, 2015 at 12:23:14 PM | Working in Perspective View

#12

seychellian


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 8, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Is this issue resolced in Revit 2015?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Feb 8, 2015 at 12:28:57 PM | seychellian

#13

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting seychellian from 2015-02-08 06:23:14

"

Is this issue resolced in Revit 2015?

"

I dont think Autodesk considers this an issue to be resolved.


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 9, 2015 at 7:31:21 PM | Working in Perspective View

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


seychellian,

 

3D views can be locked, tagged and dimensioned as of 2013 edition.   Is that what you are asking?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 19, 2018 at 4:42:38 PM | coreed

#15

seychellian


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 8, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting coreed from 2015-02-08 06:28:57

"

Quoting seychellian from 2015-02-08 06:23:14

"

Is this issue resolced in Revit 2015?

"

I dont think Autodesk considers this an issue to be resolved.

"

Are you sure about that? Smile


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wishlist - Default perspective 3d view

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, May 2, 2014 at 2:31:09 PM

9

Bathroom perspective with measurements and annotations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 25, 2016 at 2:45:22 PM

2

Working Plane - Grid in perspective View - 3D-Sweep

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 14, 2006 at 10:52:26 PM

1

Moving Objects in 3d Perspective View

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jul 27, 2016 at 8:52:14 PM

2

perspective view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 7, 2013 at 7:47:34 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1419913

Objects:

20403

Forum Posts:

150467

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8712

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights