RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

41 Users Online (40 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Set Transparancy to be view specific?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 1:13:07 PM | Set Transparancy to be view specific?

#1

DaveF


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 26, 2006
83 Posts
No Rating


Hi

I'm trying to create a 3d view where the floors are semi tranpsarent.

I want to only do it in one view. If I go Settings>Materials>Graphics>Transparency appears to set it gloabally.

V/G sets Transparency either fully on/off, which isn't desirable (It creates an invisible dwf!).

Is there a way to achieve what I want?

Thanks, Dave F. 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 2:09:19 PM | Set Transparancy to be view specific?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


The transparency setting you find under material settings only works during the rendered view process - not hidden line or shaded views.   But in a dwf (NOT REVIT), you can pick an element and set it transparent.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 4:02:58 PM | Set Transparancy to be view specific?

#3

DaveF


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 26, 2006
83 Posts
No Rating


Hmm...

Attached is an image I captured in shaded with edges mode.

I'd set the transparency thus: Settings>Materials>Graphics>Transparency Slider = 45%.

I did NOT set the 'Use Render Appearance for Shading' option.

This appears to contradict your statement, unless I'm missing something?

I'd like this appearance to be view specific.

When I create a 3d dwf, this appearance is transferred to the dwf.

 



Attached Images

54813_CropperCapture1.Jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 10:26:56 PM | Set Transparancy to be view specific?

#4

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


One way to do this is to use phasing... this could cause other problems but would accomplish what you want to do.  Set the floors to be created in the existing phase.  Set the view phase filter to Show Previous + New.  Change the "Phase-Exist" material to a semi-transparent material.  All other views set the phase filter to Show Complete.

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Tree transparancy

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 25, 2006 at 12:49:25 PM

0

Grid-head sizes set to be view specific?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 1, 2011 at 10:15:22 AM

9

glass transparancy

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 6:20:43 AM

1

view-specific resizing?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 23, 2007 at 8:13:13 PM

3

rendering trees transparent

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Oct 10, 2012 at 4:06:37 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1966514

Objects:

22851

Forum Posts:

152162

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0273

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights