RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

188 Users Online (69 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> HELP... need to mirror a plan

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 23, 2005 at 8:56:30 PM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#1

kdogg


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 15, 2005
3 Posts
No Rating


i'm having trouble keeping a plan intact after it's mirrored. when i mirror the main floor the warning tells me that the ceiling sketch is invalid. i got it to mirror in the 3d view, but everything fell apart on all the views at that point. is that the best way to go about mirroring a multi-story unit?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 23, 2005 at 10:26:23 PM | RE: HELP... need to mirror a plan

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


I just mirrored a project about an hour ago and it went pretty smooth. The condensed version is to estamblish a reference plane down the middle of the building, group your grids and any dimensions related to the grids, go to 3D grab everything, go to each view and add via cntl - window everything in the view, once everything is selected, filter out levels and elevations, issue the mirror command and make sure you can uncheck "copy" . If you can unckeck copy, do it and pick the reference plane you established. If "copy" is greyed out, you have something in the selection set that will force a copy and you have to remove the element (trial and error?). A search on AUGI will yield other methods, but nothing is going to be perfect and the Revit people need to address this issue. HTH Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 16, 2008 at 6:55:37 PM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#3

JHanby


active

Joined: Thu, May 25, 2006
177 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


There has got to be an easier way.  When you mean "go to each view and add via cntl - window everything in the view", does that mean each and every view that has the model in it or just the plan views?  Still stuck in Revit 9.1 Sad.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 17, 2008 at 2:19:38 AM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#4

deboddy


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 23, 2005
16 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


The easiest way to mirror a plan is to :

  1. Open a new project
  2. Import original plan
  3. Mirror it
  4. To work on the new mirrored version, bind it into the project, or just work on the original link.

-----------------------------------

 

Deb

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 17, 2008 at 3:27:44 AM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#5

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 91 Votes


In 2009 there is a mirror tool... Although its still a bit buggy it does give you a result most of the time.

There is a line you can add to your Revit.ini file that enables this tool in 9.1.  But I can't remember it.  Have a search for it.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 17, 2008 at 11:46:37 AM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#6

JHanby


active

Joined: Thu, May 25, 2006
177 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I tried importing my project into a new file but all the elements don't show up and can't figure out why.  My company has no plans at this time to upgrade anything Sad and I am not into programing so I guess I am stuck doing it the hard way, as usual.  Thanks for all the input.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 17, 2008 at 6:33:53 PM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#7

Chandej


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 20, 2006
7 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


You can Try these after you mirror the link:

1. Type VG.

2. Goto the last Tab " Revit Links"

3. Select " By Linked View".

4. Select " By linked view" to match your view.

This should give you the same view as your original file.

Do not bind plan.  Keep your original as left and mirror as right.  This way when you change the left, the right will change too.  You have to re-config dimensions.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 11:35:23 AM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#8

JHanby


active

Joined: Thu, May 25, 2006
177 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Chandej,  I tried all those things and still didn't work. 

I contacted our reseller to see if they could help me with the ini file thing but the guy said that he called Autodesk support and that because of problems in the past (and I suspect that cause of the old version) they do not support doing the ini file any longer.  I uploaded my file and he is going to look at why all the elements don't show up when imported into a new file. 

I also tried mirroring the model the hard way and just can't get it to work so the bosses just might have to upgrade whether they like it or not.  Smile


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 12:01:13 PM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#9

Chandej


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 20, 2006
7 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


This is how miror the plan:

1.  Use the same original file.

2.  Save as Left or Right.

3.  Erase plan not level, everything but level.

4.  Save again.

5.  Link in the original plan as attachment, use center to center so it stay at the same spot.

6.  Mirror the Link.

Then follow the step I reply before and this work for me everytime.

Dimension on the original plan have to set to "up then left".

Then on the elevations, you will have 2 sets of level, keep the ones from link file.

The key is to use the same original file so all the level come with it.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 1:18:33 PM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#10

JHanby


active

Joined: Thu, May 25, 2006
177 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Finally got a good response from our reseller on the issue I was having.  Turns out one of the worksets was corrupt.  He had me to delete all the worksets and then everything in the model showed up in the new file.  So now my next question is: Can I some how transfer the sheet set ups into the new file from the original file or do I have to recreate all the sheets in the new file?

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 3:58:03 PM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#11

jmbitzer81


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2007
17 Posts
No Rating


The only time I have needed to mirror a plan, I created a group. It included all the walls, doors, and family components, etc. Then it was as easy as placing the group and mirroring it, or mirroring the group that's already in the view. That worked greap for the hotel rooms, and apartment rooms.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 5:18:39 PM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#12

Chandej


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 20, 2006
7 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


You can use linkview to match origainal sheet setup ( see my first responed)

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 5:27:55 PM | HELP... need to mirror a plan

#13

Chandej


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 20, 2006
7 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I also put all details and schedule on title block sheet ( see attached), this way my template files already complete with details and schedule, then I link any file into the same set spot to have the same project setup.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

using the mirror comand [ 1 2 ]

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 2:13:36 PM

17

Callout Wont mirror, Need help !!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 20, 2014 at 2:49:10 AM

6

How do I mirror a project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 14, 2006 at 1:41:58 PM

1

Mirror Material in Revit not Working

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 23, 2014 at 10:49:41 AM

10

how to mirror a family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 26, 2010 at 9:09:25 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1454817

Objects:

20598

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4517

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights