RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

362 Users Online (212 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> project standards

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Mar 8, 2009 at 10:20:28 AM | project standards

#1

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


this forum is amazing..

 

what's the difference between copying project

standards from a current project to a new

project- or opening a copy of a blank project

with all the standards in it?

unless something like your current project

will always have slightly updated standards

to transfer or something?

 

just a little theory question..


This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 8, 2009 at 12:53:30 PM | project standards

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


You can have a lot more set up in a template than you can transfer from an existing project.  I don't have access to Revit right now so some of these may be transferable but in a template, you can have - schedules, legends, families, browser organization, view templates, title sheets fully setup, common drafting details.  Some of these can be copy/clipped and pasted across the projects but that takes a lot more work.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 8, 2009 at 2:38:35 PM | WYS1WYG

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting WYS1WYG from 2009-03-08 05:20:28

"

opening a copy of a blank project with all the standards in it?

just a little theory question..

"

if your talking theory, the above statemnet would be the definition of a template file. thus any new project you started with a template file would atleast have this basic set of standards in common as WWHub stated. i think your question is one of semantics. any file that you are using to establish standards for a new files becomes a template in essence.

but you are correct about this, "this forum is amazing..."

hth


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 8, 2009 at 5:04:42 PM | project standards

#4

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


yes a blank project template..

so then what is the idea of transfer project standards?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 8, 2009 at 6:48:49 PM | project standards

#5

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


just another tool for the same thing. sometimes you need to update projects or templates to the current standards. during the course of completing a project and some new standards have been argreed on, you always want to tranfer those to your template file in the end. maybe it's a standards that's just going to be used between a couple of projects. some of these things could just as easily be cut-n-pasted between projects. Transfer Project Standard is a formal Revit procedure for accomplishing this task

 


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 8, 2009 at 7:59:39 PM | project standards

#6

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


thanks for that great answer coreed..

and now that i have you "on the line" lol-

i would like to get your expert opinion of

something.. (am i picking your brain?) he he..

 

i understand about exporting an uncluttered

version of my building to the civil engineer

via DWG- but i'm wondering if i could or

should bring all those civil 3d lines into

revit to plot together will all the sheets..

or should the DWG drawing sheets just

be sent to the building dept. along with

 the revit sheets? same for the plumbing

and electrical.. seems like it would be

nice to have all of it on one drawing set

but i don't know if anyone does it that

way..


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 1, 2012 at 5:18:52 PM | project standards

#7

Tyman


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 27, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


You don't include the topographic lines, these along with an outline or building footprint will be shown in the grading and site plans prepared by the civil engineers

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

TRANSFER PROJECT STANDARDS???

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 8, 2009 at 7:27:37 PM

2

transfer project standards - line weights not transfering

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 12, 2016 at 5:20:53 AM

6

Transfer Project Standards not working

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jan 21, 2014 at 5:26:40 PM

3

Transfering project standards

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 at 5:21:17 PM

1

Revit MEP 2011 API - Open file and transfer project standards

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Thu, Apr 28, 2011 at 4:17:37 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1755483

Objects:

22370

Forum Posts:

151876

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6426

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights