RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

166 Users Online (52 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> dimensions in 3d

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 9:36:27 PM | dimensions in 3d

#1

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


Working in 2008.  Can Revit dimension in 3D?  I can't seem to dimension in the z-axis am I doing something wrong?

 

Thank you,

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 9:50:37 PM | dimensions in 3d

#2

wheelergc


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 9, 2007
62 Posts
No Rating


You can't dimesion in a 3d view.  You can dimesion in elevation or section.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 27, 2009 at 5:11:10 AM | dimensions in 3d

#3

DimensionHelper


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 26, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


Sure you can.

There is an import concept for dimension in 3d, that is work plane. Dimensions will only be created on current work plane. You can see current work plane by click the Work Plane Visibility button.

Take dimension between faces for example. The faces must be 1) perpendicular to the work plane; 2) parallel to each other. Otherwise the faces will not be pickable as dimension reference. Basically you can dimension all parallel faces by choosing proper work plane first.

If it still doesn't work, let me know. And also any suggestion on what dimensions in 3d should be is welcome. Thanks.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 2, 2009 at 12:45:25 PM | dimensions in 3d

#4

JRMello


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 12, 2008
98 Posts
No Rating


Here's an example of dimensioning in 3D. This item was small enough and simple enough that I decided to get the specs out with one drawing rather than 3 or 4.

Attached Images

56251_Custom_Hold-down.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 2, 2009 at 3:25:31 PM | dimensions in 3d

#5

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


Thanks dimension helper.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

EQ Display in dimensions Revit 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 23, 2010 at 8:28:36 PM

8

Isometric Dimensions in Drafting Views (details)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 28, 2012 at 8:13:08 PM

7

Changing Dimensions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 3:02:52 PM

7

Disappearing Dimensions

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 19, 2013 at 5:33:56 PM

5

temporary dimensions disappeared

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 25, 2012 at 3:37:51 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1819637

Objects:

22573

Forum Posts:

152003

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0921

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights