RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

335 Users Online (184 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Walls Behavior ????

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 12:57:31 PM | Walls Behavior ????

#1

cercas


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 17, 2006
33 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Hi everybody..

Why does this wall does not show the correct material ??? 

 Tks 

 ------

Revit 2009 



Edited on: Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 6:58:16 AM

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

Joao Cercas 

On Revit 2010 (SP3)

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 1:33:38 PM | Walls Behavior ????

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


When you define an element, you assign it a material but the graphics for that material  is controlled by ... settings/materials.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 1:54:35 PM | WWHub

#3

cercas


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 17, 2006
33 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting WWHub from 2009-02-23 07:33:38

"When you define an element, you assign it a material but the graphics for that material  is controlled by ... settings/materials."

 
That is not the problem, the problem is that the material displayed is not the correct one, instead os displaying the plaster material, it's displayng the core material instead.... 

-----------------------------------

Joao Cercas 

On Revit 2010 (SP3)

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 3:19:50 PM | Walls Behavior ????

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Revit does what you tell it to do.  Post  a screenshot showing the properties of this wall.  If it is showing the core material, then either you assigned this material to the finish layer or you have no finish layer at all.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 6:08:39 PM | WWHub

#5

cercas


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 17, 2006
33 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting WWHub from 2009-02-23 09:19:50

"Revit does what you tell it to do.  Post  a screenshot showing the properties of this wall.  If it is showing the core material, then either you assigned this material to the finish layer or you have no finish layer at all."

 
Like you ask, as you can see, the wall is showing brick, instead of plaster...


Attached Images

53655_CropperCapture1.jpg53655_CropperCapture2.jpg

-----------------------------------

Joao Cercas 

On Revit 2010 (SP3)

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 6:31:11 PM | Walls Behavior ????

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Where is the plaster????  I see brick and I see default ... whatever that is I don't know but it sure isn't plaster..

 

 

And how did you get a finish under your structure?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 6:45:04 PM | WWHub

#7

cercas


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 17, 2006
33 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting WWHub from 2009-02-23 12:31:11

"

Where is the plaster????  I see brick and I see default ... whatever that is I don't know but it sure isn't plaster..

 

 

And how did you get a finish under your structure?

"

 

 
Sorry, i'm from portugal, and some of the materials are translated.... but you have the file, in the 1º post, with the wall, so you can analyze it better.
 
Tks
 


Edited on: Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 12:45:42 PM

-----------------------------------

Joao Cercas 

On Revit 2010 (SP3)

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 24, 2009 at 11:33:06 AM | Walls Behavior ????

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Cercas, vi a mensagem no RevipPT, explica lá isto melhor....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 24, 2009 at 12:49:18 PM | Walls Behavior ????

#9

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


I have opened your attached file and it looks exactly like the picture you posted and so I'm with Hub on this... I dont see where the plaster is suposibly supposed to be.  A print screne should not have any conversion issues.  What layer is supposed to be what?  Layer 1, layer 2...etc.  The file you attached shows the materials correctly.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 3:21:46 AM | Typhoon

#10

cercas


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 17, 2006
33 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting Typhoon from 2009-02-24 05:33:06

"

Cercas, vi a mensagem no RevipPT, explica lá isto melhor....

 

"

 

Se reparares alterei a parede, de modo a ficar como keria, mas em vez de me mostrar a camada de reboco, qd retiro uma camada efault,  por cima dos revestimentos, fica a mostrar-me o tijolo, e nao o reboco....

Edited on: Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 3:45:55 AM

-----------------------------------

Joao Cercas 

On Revit 2010 (SP3)

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 10:17:41 AM | Walls Behavior ????

#11

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Cercas, não tenho aqui o Revit mas o 1º Layer onde tens o material "Default", que material tens assignado?? Reboco ou Tijolo (Brick)?? pela imagem é tijolo, duplica esse material, faz o "Rename" dele e altera para o material que queres, por o que WWhub e o Bronco4life dizem os materiais que tens assignados nas propriedades são aqueles que estão a aparecer na parede da imagem que colocas-te, verifica os materiais outra vez para ver se não à nenhum engano....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 10:57:21 AM | Walls Behavior ????

#12

cercas


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 17, 2006
33 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Let's try again....

 



Attached Images

53835_CropperCapture3.jpg53835_CropperCapture4.jpg53835_CropperCapture5.jpg

-----------------------------------

Joao Cercas 

On Revit 2010 (SP3)

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 3:25:31 PM | Walls Behavior ????

#13

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


This is a bug and has yet to be fixed.  Even in 2010.  To make this wall do what you want you should used a stacked wall instead of a basic wall.  This should work.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 5:09:00 PM | broncos4life

#14

cercas


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 17, 2006
33 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting broncos4life from 2009-02-25 09:25:31

"This is a bug and has yet to be fixed.  Even in 2010.  To make this wall do what you want you should used a stacked wall instead of a basic wall.  This should work."

Tks, just as i thought ...
 
Hope to see this fix in the release edition of 2010...Winking 

-----------------------------------

Joao Cercas 

On Revit 2010 (SP3)

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Curtain wall panels behavior....what gives?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 22, 2011 at 8:34:54 PM

0

Curious family behavior on different computers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 7, 2009 at 6:22:26 PM

0

Can I replicate the behavior of an dynamic block (autocad) in a revit family?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 10, 2009 at 3:35:35 PM

7

Materials in families- weird behavior

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 9, 2010 at 12:14:52 PM

4

walls with 2 hatches solid/pattern

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 at 12:27:21 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1552969

Objects:

21384

Forum Posts:

151413

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6492

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights