RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

280 Users Online (144 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 3ds Max Design 2009??? importing from Revit 2009???

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Feb 19, 2009 at 3:59:30 PM | 3ds Max Design 2009??? importing from Revit 2009???

#1

BECKS


active
BECKS Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2008
9 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Ok I think I have seen a similar question about this but here goes. I have a large model made in Revit 2009 with assigned materials, decals, lights…the works. I have exported out of Revit a camera view as a FBX and imported in 3ds Max. Everything looks good then I go to the camera view setup in Revit render and everything is black followed by a crash. Ok, so then I setup a 3ds Max camera install 3ds Max lights render and…crash. Next I export the Revit model as a DWG setup 3ds Max camera and lights and a very sad rendering will appear with materials from Revit. So I guess my question is ...is my Revit model to large to be supported by the FBX file or is it a software issue or something else? This is very frustrating because I am following all tutorials to the T and it’s just not working out. My 3ds Max skills are limited but not this limited I have had success with other Revit 2009 models  

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 19, 2009 at 10:41:12 PM | 3ds Max Design 2009??? importing from Revit 2009???

#2

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hi BECKS, have you got the SP1 for 3ds MAX Design 2009???.......BTW, How many RAM, what processor ,etc., do you have???



Edited on: Sat, Feb 21, 2009 at 10:36:39 AM

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 26, 2009 at 3:37:52 PM | 3ds Max Design 2009??? importing from Revit 2009???

#3

BECKS


active
BECKS Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2008
9 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi erland73, i dont think we do have SP1...my machine is a dell precision pws ,670 intel xeon, CPU 3.20 ghz,3.00 GB ram, C: 74.4 GB capacity with 17.8 gb free

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 27, 2009 at 2:01:56 AM | 3ds Max Design 2009??? importing from Revit 2009???

#4

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hi BECKS, take a look at this, taken from Autodesk site:

"Autodesk 3ds Max Design 2009 Service Pack 1 includes a number of fixes for Autodesk 3ds Max Design 2009 across several functional areas, including Biped, Customer Error Reports (CER), Daylight Simulation, Custom Attributes, Edit Normal Modifier, FBX\Revit® Shaders, Hair, Inverse Kinematics, Install, Materials, Network/Command Line Rendering, Particles, Performance, Render Elements, Render to Texture, Revit Import, Spline Mapping, SteeringWheels™, Autodesk® ViewCube®, Viewport and XRefs". So, it's up to you if you want to try with this....

 You don't specify the quality you use to render your model(s), but I imagine maybe in High quality, if it's so, I think you have low quantity of RAM memory to do this. You don't specify how large your model is. 

I'd suggest try to render your model first in low quality, so you'll check if it's a memory problem or a file problem.....Good luck!!.....


-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Export Mass from Revit 2009 to 3ds Max 2009

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 3:13:53 PM

0

Revit 2009 to FBX Import into MAX 9?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 21, 2009 at 7:12:22 PM

9

3DS Max Design training in Brisbane

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 10:39:41 AM

5

Revit 2009 lighting incorrect in Design 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 24, 2008 at 4:45:25 AM

0

Intermediate Revit user here looking for advice on 3ds max [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Sep 8, 2011 at 8:41:35 PM

18

Site Stats

Members:

1529480

Objects:

21317

Forum Posts:

151309

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3616

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights