RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

196 Users Online (77 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Revit Project Duplex

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 6:13:54 PM | Revit Project Duplex

#1

fmunoz


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


HiI am starting to work on a duplex and started thinking of ways to only make one side and then mirror the other side. In a perfect world it would be as simple as making it once mirror and done. But we all know that after I mirror it i will have changes and I would like to only make the changes on one side and be automatic on the other side. My first thought was to only build one side then link it to another project. Once its a link in another project I mirror it using the Mirror Project tool. I discovered that I couldnt link the mirrored project to the original project becuase the Link file name is the same name as the host project name. So i opened a new project and linked both sides into the new project, which works but i cannot tag and there are no schedules. I then tried to copy/monitor (which i rarely use), then i had schedules and tags but the walls do not clean up nicely in the corners. I would be satisfied if i can link the mirrored project into the original project that way i can tag and have at least the schedule for one side of the duplex without having to copy/monitor. Im wondering if anyone has any experience with a similar project. I'm also wondering if im way over my head here and I'm expecting too much.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 19, 2009 at 1:49:15 PM | Revit Project Duplex

#2

robinballew


active
robinballew Avatar

Joined: Sun, Nov 27, 2005
298 Posts
3 Stars: 4 Votes


You are on the right track. You have the 1/2 of the duplex and the file that will contain the 1/2 plus a copy mirrored. Good so far. The trick is that you will still want to document the job in the origional file. Tag, Dimension, note what ever. The way to get the information to show up in the linked file is through the VG(Visibility Graphics) command. In plan view VG, Linked Revit, Display view as Floor Plan from the origional file. Now you will see all the notes. It works great. Good luck.

-----------------------------------
BallewDesigns.com

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 19, 2009 at 4:03:37 PM | Revit Project Duplex

#3

fmunoz


active

Joined: Sat, Nov 24, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


ITS ROBIN TO THE RESCUE!!! LOL love the pic

 Thanks for the advice! I started playing around with those options and i also think theyre great. Im now thinking of different ways of using these tools on different projects. The only problem i have found is that the dimmensions dont seem to show up, is that something that will not show up or have i not set up the options right?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Feb 22, 2009 at 6:27:55 PM | Revit Project Duplex

#4

robinballew


active
robinballew Avatar

Joined: Sun, Nov 27, 2005
298 Posts
3 Stars: 4 Votes


Dimensions should show up. I do all the documentation on the origional file. Make sure the crop region isn't cropping the dimensions. Other than that make sure your VG has the dimensions on in the origional file. Let me know how it goes.

-----------------------------------
BallewDesigns.com

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Feb 22, 2009 at 6:28:28 PM | Revit Project Duplex

#5

robinballew


active
robinballew Avatar

Joined: Sun, Nov 27, 2005
298 Posts
3 Stars: 4 Votes


Dimensions should show up. I do all the documentation on the origional file. Make sure the crop region isn't cropping the dimensions. Other than that make sure your VG has the dimensions on in the origional file. Let me know how it goes.

-----------------------------------
BallewDesigns.com

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

horizontally mounted duplex receptacles

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 22, 2010 at 2:02:04 PM

4

duplex workflow

Community >> Newbies

Thu, May 18, 2017 at 2:48:10 PM

1

Duplex Booster Pump

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 at 2:28:30 PM

1

Duplex outlet dimensions

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 27, 2007 at 7:44:52 PM

5

Split Circuit Receptical Circuiting with Branch Duplex Recepticals

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 27, 2012 at 8:07:09 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1844061

Objects:

22622

Forum Posts:

152046

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9786

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights