RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

327 Users Online (167 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Editing a room tag

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jun 13, 2005 at 8:46:41 PM | Editing a room tag

#1

jag architect


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 20, 2004
10 Posts
No Rating


I am wondering if there is a way to edit the way that the room tag figures area. I know that with an area tag this allows you to draw the lines but can you set up the room tag so it automatically detects where the room seperation divides and goes to the outside of the exterior wall and centerline of a demising wall in a commercial space? This is just to avoid having to put a whole other plan on our sheets, to consolidate drawings and have the room tag read the same as area tag. Anyone have an answer to this or has come across this problem before? Thank you for your help.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 14, 2005 at 3:23:35 AM | RE: Editing a room tag

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


No way that I know of other than to manually adjust the location of the room separation line. Only area plans have the ability to have the area line location move in response to standard BOMA area types. Also a small point, but the area tag does not determine the area of a room. Tags in Revit are only a reporting mechanism to display the value of fields present in the Revit database. HTH Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 14, 2005 at 9:45:03 AM | RE: Editing a room tag

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Room tags will calculate area based on the closest face of the wall to the room. Imagine each wall being completely surrounded by room separation lines. If you don't want this to be the case you would need to select all your walls and unselect room bounding in there properties and then use room separation lines in your drafting menu to define the room boundaries... Very time consuming but pretty similar to using the area lines and tags... HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 14, 2005 at 1:32:10 PM | RE: Editing a room tag

#4

jag architect


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 20, 2004
10 Posts
No Rating


Thank you both for your responses. Looks like I will stay with the area plan.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 12, 2017 at 8:17:41 PM | Editing a room tag

#5

sllana


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 2, 2011
106 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


IN CASE THIS IS WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT



Attached Images

155876_AREA-COMP.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

URL parameter in a room tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 at 9:55:55 AM

2

Room tag not showing in only one room.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jun 10, 2019 at 1:46:03 AM

6

Room Tags - Editing the linework around the room number

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Oct 1, 2009 at 1:49:39 PM

1

Using Room Tag Family Parameters in a Celing Tag Family

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:52:40 PM

3

Editing a Room Tag Box

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 29, 2009 at 6:33:53 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1605154

Objects:

21955

Forum Posts:

151569

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.3917

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights