RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

128 Users Online (127 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jan 2, 2009 at 9:11:22 PM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#1

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Hi Guys,

my company (building design) made a switch from AutoCAD to Revit Architecture, couple months ago. Since none of the guys working with me have had any previous experience with Revit in a past, we had a few daily sessions with Revit expert in our office, kind of introductory sessions for beginners. Since than I have done a couple small projects using Revit Architecture (houses). Now there is a big task in front of me, 3 storey walk up building with 36 residential units plus 13 individual residences as part of same project.

My question is, what is the best way to organise my drawings, should I made individual drawing files, lets say for each house plus individual drawings for 3 storey building and import all together on site plan (site plan as a separate drawing file as well), or should I have just one big drawing file with all drawings in it.?

Second question is, if you have a steep site how do you attach driveway to topsurface or what is the best way to draw driweway on steep site?

Thanks

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 3, 2009 at 9:00:09 PM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Congratulations on finally making the switch!  A big positive step, correct implementation is going to be the hardest part as to whether you find it to be a devil in disguise.  I hope the Revit expert in your office has good varied experience in a variety of different typologies.

Generally I always suggest modelling detached dwellings in their own files and yes linking them all together into the site file.  It will make documentation easier and keep file size down and as efficient as possible.

A subregion is the easiest method which simply allows you to draw an enclosed single loop on the toposurface to apply a different material to that section.  If it needs to vary in height then you can split the surface and then move the driveway surface down or up to the desired level.  Finally if you require the driveway to have thickness then a point edited floor is your only solution.  The latter method is usually quite messy as you get all the triangulation edges...


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Jan 4, 2009 at 1:00:03 AM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#3

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Thanks Chris for reply. Yes it took a while for my boss to decide to make a switch, but main reason was luck of time since we are quite busy office and we had to use some weekends to attend those classes. On a long run, I think it is going to be worthwhile and like anything else, with enough practising, we can 'get there'.So far most of my troubles are related to topography especially in regards to steep sites. I have bought a few books about Revit 2009 and they are quite informative, but not as useful and helpfull as these web site and video clips.

I have attached my first project done in Revit, 3 levels residence, and to be honest I was surprised by the quality of rendering using Revit Arch. 2009. With some photograph in a background could look quite impressive. Speaking  of background additions, can you recommend any site I can download some photos and use it for my projects?

 Thanks again for your reply, I hope there is going to be more of them since I've just started with my questions



Attached Images

50409_113_Skyline_Tce_-_Rendering_-_3D_Rear2_HR.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 3:49:55 AM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#4

chuaheyia


active
chuaheyia Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 2, 2006
9 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


congratulations Smile

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 5:28:49 AM | stankovic

#5

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Quoting stankovic from 2009-01-04 01:00:03

"Speaking  of background additions, can you recommend any site I can download some photos and use it for my projects?"

 

Google image, search filter on big images? Smile

Edited on: Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 5:29:44 AM

-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 6:14:32 PM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#6

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Thanks Guys

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 8:19:57 PM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#7

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


stankovic....is incredible the quality you have reached in few time if this is your first "real" project done in Revit. You should upload that image to the gallery. That desmostrates that switching from an obsolete software (ACAD really is not for architects), to a real architectural software is the future for the companies....congratulations......

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 10:31:33 PM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#8

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Yes this is my first 'Real' revit project.  Let me tell you, seing the results of my first project, I was excited as a little kid in a toy shop. This was all new for me as I never used 3D modelling before. These are couple more images of same project. I'll upload all images into gallery. I know there is a big battle ahead but this is definitely way to go.



Attached Images

50484_Front_Perspective_.jpg50484_Rear_Perspective_2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 13, 2009 at 5:13:17 AM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#9

ksmith


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2009
78 Posts
No Rating


Those pictures are fantastic!! A great inspiration as to what I may be able to achieve with more learning. I am on my first Revit 2009 project right now but I have to tell you it is nowhere near the level of your project.

I am not an architect or a designer but instead, a builder that has always got his hands dirty building everybody elses designs. After becoming better with Revit, and perhaps enrolling on a design course or similar, I hope to be able to design buildings instead of building them. Hopefully!!

 Kirk


-----------------------------------
USING REVIT 2011--- This old builder is determined to Learn Revit no matter what it takes.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 13, 2009 at 7:55:17 PM | Moving from AutoCAD to Revit

#10

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Kirk,

 thanks for comments (great motivational tool). Just be persistent and everything is achieavable. The funny thing with Revit, once you see your result you can't wait to start with new project which cannot be said for AutoCAD (all same boring lines). Builder today, designer tommorow. 6 years ago I was in completely different profession, had no clue about building industry and today I am building designer and wouldn't change if for anything else.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Will Revit and autoCAD 2012 and newer use more than 4 cores for 3d draftnig?

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Jun 26, 2012 at 11:13:35 PM

3

Moving Toposurface. Imported from AutoCAD file.

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, May 12, 2015 at 7:24:19 AM

1

Splitting part of a Revit Project to AutoCad

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sat, Nov 22, 2008 at 7:06:27 PM

4

AutoCad vs Revit [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 1:58:52 PM

16

Revit Architecture 2013 - Moving Section Tag is Moving Referenced Detail

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 28, 2012 at 8:34:11 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1966313

Objects:

22851

Forum Posts:

152158

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5001

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights