RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

132 Users Online (48 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> flat roofs - best practices

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Dec 23, 2008 at 5:30:49 PM | flat roofs - best practices

#1

NancyHKA


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 6, 2008
56 Posts
No Rating


Hello all,

This is my second revit project, so in our office we're still experimenting...I was wondering what y'all choose to do for flat roofs that have a minimal slope, like to an internal roof drain.  As far as I see it, there are two ways of doing this: use the tools in revit (I'm in 2009) to actually model the ridges and valleys in the flat roof, or just forget about the modeling and draw in the slopes in the roof as detail lines only in the roof plan.  Which method are people choosing to use?  What are your thoughts about the advantages and disadvantages of each one? 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 23, 2008 at 5:49:02 PM | flat roofs - best practices

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


In our office, we model to the maximum roof thickness and  just use the 2D linework on the roof plan.  You really don't need to see the slope in overall sections and it will not show in wall sections.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 4:55:24 PM | flat roofs - best practices

#3

NancyHKA


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 6, 2008
56 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your input.  I just spent a lot of time using the new flat roof tools to model slopes in our flat roofs, and I was wondering if it was really worth it to go to all the trouble.  Is there a way to keep the 2D linework from getting messed up if the outline of the roof changes?  (Say, like, one edge moves a few feet.)  Do you try to lock the linework to the edges of the roof, or do you just end up re-drawing it when a change is made?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 5:10:29 PM | flat roofs - best practices

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


I guess I have just fixed the linework .... but you could lock it in some instances....

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2008 Multiple Roofs on Same level?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 24, 2007 at 2:05:38 PM

12

Flat Roofs

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 10:24:52 AM

6

Vallys in flat roofs?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 7:37:27 PM

1

flat roofs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 7, 2005 at 2:38:24 PM

6

Flat roof - best practices

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 24, 2008 at 6:03:58 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1819657

Objects:

22573

Forum Posts:

152003

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1219

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights