RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

154 Users Online (35 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> Floor pattern -- masking floor pattern

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, May 20, 2005 at 5:14:29 PM | Floor pattern -- masking floor pattern

#1

daleyy


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2004
49 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


A bit new to Revit, but I thought this would be as simple as the other programs I have used so I left it alone. I was wrong. I am trying to place a floor patten down in a bathroom and then place the fixtures. I have tried a filled region, and I have tried placing a new floor down with the pattern on it. They both worked fine. A bit cumbersome sketching all the lines as apposed to one click inside the area needing the pattern like other programs do, but that is the way Revit. However, I took the 3d toilets and sinks and placed them down and the pattern is also in the fixture. I thought this has got to be an mistake on my part. Fixtures ALWAYS will mask out the floor pattern. I checked the visibility of the fixture and the model is off in plan. I turned it on, and all the lines show up that make the 3D. Not a good plan representation. What do I do? I am new to Revit, but masking out floor pattens with objects that go on floors is a common graphical need in architectural floor plans. As powerful as Revit is, I have to be missing the way to do this that has got to be just like or better than all the other BIM software out there. What am I missing? Thanks Post edited on 2005-05-20 12:16:40

-----------------------------------

DaleW

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 20, 2005 at 9:42:19 PM | RE: Floor pattern -- masking floor pattern

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Chances are the the 3D elements of your toilet are not set to be visable in a floor plan view. You can open the family you are using in the famility editor and set the 3D visability there. Many people though do not like the 3D linework showing up on plan as it is too complex looking. You can also modify your toilet family to have a nested filled region for plan view. Unfortunetly, you have to do the nesting process as the family editor will not allow filled regions any other way. As an alternate, we use 2.5D toilets which work well in plan and elevation, but will not render as there is nothing there. I have attached one for you to look at or use. HTH Tom

Attached Files

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 20, 2005 at 10:33:14 PM | RE: Floor pattern -- masking floor pattern

#3

daleyy


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2004
49 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Tom, Thanks for the file. I have downloaded another one similar. Had problems with that one. I tried yours within my project as well, I still have hatch going through the toilet. I must be doing something wrong with the hatch or something. Been working on this all day and just can't get anything to work but a detail component. I have attached on image of the bath. Your file, another file and the detail component that I created are all in the image. Only my component hides the pattern. tell me what you think. Thanks

Attached Images

0411-bath.jpg

-----------------------------------

DaleW

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 23, 2005 at 2:21:49 PM | RE: Floor pattern -- masking floor pattern

#4

daleyy


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2004
49 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Tom. I got your file to work great. I am trying to understand what you did, so I can duplicate it on some of our other symbols. We also use a different graphic look for the toilet as well. Could you tell me what it is this really is doing. I see that there is 3 detail components in this one file. But I cannot seem to see where they are placed. Could you give me a couple pointers on changing this around for our graphic representation. Thanks for sharing. Post edited on 2005-05-23 09:22:00

-----------------------------------

DaleW

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 23, 2005 at 4:03:58 PM | RE: Floor pattern -- masking floor pattern

#5

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Dale, To give credit where it is due, someone on AUGI developed this technique, I'm only copying it. Basically, start with 2D linework you want to use for symbology, in this case it was a 2D ACAD DWG from Kohler. Start a new detail component family, link in the 2D line work, make white filled regions in Revit using the 2D linework as a guide. Do this for plan, side and front views and save the detail components. Then start a new family, load in the detail components, place them in top, fron and side views. Since the detail components are only visable in parrallel views, the top will not show up in a side view etc. In the family add 3D line work to show some representation of a fixture or you could go a step further and actually have a 3D fixture, but turn off the 3D in any plan, elevation views. HTH Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, May 23, 2005 at 4:51:48 PM | RE: Floor pattern -- masking floor pattern

#6

daleyy


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2004
49 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks Tom, That did it. I am changing them and it is working perfectly. Thanks for the help.

-----------------------------------

DaleW

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Surface Pattern on Modified Floor - No Skewing for Floor Plans

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 13, 2016 at 12:45:11 AM

3

Floor pattern direction

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 24, 2007 at 7:48:39 PM

2

Floor patterns diff directions same pattern.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Sep 27, 2009 at 9:57:09 PM

1

New Floor Pattern??

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jul 10, 2007 at 10:01:33 PM

1

Floor patterns being assigned to one floor type changes others

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 1, 2007 at 7:17:13 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1706671

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6082

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights