RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

196 Users Online (78 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Templates

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Nov 18, 2008 at 7:28:00 PM | Templates

#1

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


after having worked for a while on a drawing file, is there a way to save all the stuff from transfer project standards, plus all the loaded models, drafting details etc, views:  in other words everything except the building model to a template.  The way I do it now is to have to delete everything that is drawn, then save to a template.   If you save the drawing to a template, best I can tell, you just get the same building file ready to be renamed something new.  Same as "saveas" a different name

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 18, 2008 at 7:34:09 PM | Templates

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


yeah, delete all what do you don't want and "Save as", in "Files of type" choose "Template files *.RTE" and go to your template folder, give the name and save, if you want to start with that RTE, go to "Settings-Options-File Locations-Default Template File" and choose the new template you are just created...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 18, 2008 at 7:38:46 PM | Templates

#3

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


seems clunky.  You are left trying to undo all the revision clouds (if issued, you can't delte them and chasing down every detail item and line you've drawn in every view to delete.  Ouch. 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 19, 2008 at 12:28:04 AM | Templates

#4

mtyp


active

Joined: Mon, May 5, 2008
33 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


it is gonna be a bit messy too doing it that way.  It works but maybe you should consider doing it manually by transferring project standards, loading families, etc.

This way you'll end up with a cleaner template file.  Then save as and change to RTE.  Basically doing in the manual manner will let you make decisions about what you actually need and reduce your template file size.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 19, 2008 at 10:01:43 AM | Templates

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Yeah, it's true...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Where have my templates gone in 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 7, 2012 at 2:09:06 PM

9

Family Templates

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Nov 26, 2013 at 3:56:21 PM

7

Drawing templates

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 10, 2004 at 6:41:36 PM

3

lineweight templates for optimal appearance

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 7, 2015 at 6:58:11 PM

2

Used based Revit templates

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 2, 2014 at 10:17:38 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1779151

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 14.9309

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights