RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

205 Users Online (95 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>

Fri, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:43:40 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#1

siwilks200


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 3, 2008
25 Posts
No Rating


Ok. ive been looking through the various thread here and i cant find a method that works for me. I have applied materials in Skp then imported into a family (and later as a mass)......my 1st method to apply the revit materials was to open up object styles and set the colour it came through as to a revit material Cryingno luck there) second attempt was to change the "render material ###.###.###" found within material settings (and no luck there). can any one lead me to a method that works? that be much appreciated


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 14, 2008 at 12:55:25 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#2

siwilks200


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 3, 2008
25 Posts
No Rating


BTW i am playing about with the massing (wall by face etc) technique to set revit materials, but it seems a very long winded method. Im after a more simple way of changing the material setting as i explained above...which apparently does work! i just wonder what im doing wrong there???

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 14, 2008 at 2:56:47 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Ok, i can tell you how I apply the materials to my obj. made in sketchup in revit, i export from SK to CAD in DWG, then in Autocad if i need i can change some parts of obj. with other color, each material must have 1 color, do not attrib the same color to the different parts of the obj. if they don't have the same material (e.g. glass=color 4, tires= color7....), then in Revit i create a new family category and in that family i change in Settings-Material the color "###.###.###" to the respective material i want, save the family in the right folder and that's it....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 14, 2008 at 5:01:42 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#4

siwilks200


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 3, 2008
25 Posts
No Rating


Thanks I did it! The problem was that the entities were not set to BYLAYER colours, it appears Revit needs the entity colours set to Bylayer in order to swap them for a Revit material and Sketchup didnt create colours native to the layers (Bylayer equivalent - can anyone explain this?)  for my model - so in summary the skp model needs exporting - layers sorted out to Bylayers - then importing to Revit for rendering using the material settings! At last ! Thanks Typoon

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 3:53:39 AM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#5

Mufu


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 19, 2009
25 Posts
No Rating


hey typhoon i have a similar problem i cannot change the material of a autocad 3d file which i imported into revit i see u r saying to create a family can u plzz advice me step by step on how to do it it is very very urgent thanks...

 

muf


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 4:47:36 AM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#6

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Mufu, depending on the "type" of your .dwg 3d model, you can make a specific family for it, i.e. Metric Entourage for cars, trees, RPC models, etc., or Metric Furniture for beds, chairs, etc. (if you use the metric system in Malaysia of course).Then when you import your .dwg into this family file, you can assign the materials according to the colors that you used in ACAD, i.e. if you used blue lines for glass, green lines for  leaves,gray for metals, etc. Just go to Settings-->Materials.... and Replace button to assign materials. Tell me if it helped you, very, very urgent.....LOL...

Edited on: Mon, May 25, 2009 at 11:49:45 PM

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 5:13:02 AM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#7

Mufu


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 19, 2009
25 Posts
No Rating


hey erland thanks for your prompt reply but the thing is i am nto importing just tiny objects its a whole 3d model(building)and for that i cannot just assign specific families i tried chnaging the layers from visibilty graphics and object styles will that help??

 

muf


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 8:26:26 AM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


"i am nto importing just tiny objects its a whole 3d model(building)" - Like what? the "Empire State Building"? it's the same, import them into a "Generic model family", change your layesr/materials there then "Load into the project"...

Very, Very urgent....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 2:14:01 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#9

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Yeah Mufu, it's the same.....

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 17, 2009 at 7:36:07 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#10

arkoh


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 20, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


I am desperate!!!! Please help!!

I get the same white materials, when importing a SketchUp model, to revit... I might just be plain stupid, but I cannot make it work, and my hair is starting to fall off, due to frustration!!! :-/ (And I don't wanna have to go over autocad if anyway possible!!!...

 

What I do...

1. create model in SketchUp, with the elements, I need to assign different materials, setup on different layers!

2. save as a skp file

3. open a new family in Revit 2009

4. import the skp file into this family

5. go to stteings/object styles/imported objects, and create and assign the Revit materials I want, to the different layers set up in my SketchUp file.

6. place this family in my Revit model...

 

Shouldn't that do the trick??

For some reason this SketchUp model just wont render as anything else then white!??

PLEASE HELP ASAP!!!! I'M DESPERATE! 


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Jul 18, 2009 at 10:05:49 AM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#11

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


The same anwser i post before....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jul 18, 2009 at 2:16:33 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#12

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


"4. import the skp file into this family"

I think is better to "work" on it in Autocad first, instead of importing it directly from Sketchup.....



Edited on: Sat, Jul 18, 2009 at 9:18:05 AM

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 20, 2009 at 1:09:34 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#13

arkoh


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 20, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


@Typhoon & erland73

Thanks for your replies! 

You are both talking about having to bring it over AutoCad! Why? I mean... nothing good normally comes out of involving a third software, to do the communication between to other softwares!! It complicates things, things get lost in the translation, and its just so much easier, if I could take my SketchUp file and simply import it into Revit!

Its straightforward importing the SketchUp file straight into Revit, without having to go over AutoCad first! I just can't figure out why I can't assign different materials to different elements/layers of my SketchUp model!


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jul 20, 2009 at 1:35:47 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 355 Votes


Here is something you may be missing.  The PROJECT RULES! 

 

By that I mean the material assignment in the project over-rides the material assignment in the family.  So ... if you have a family with xyz material in it (or dwg file with layer blue in it) and xyz or the layer is assigned a material with a blue color and you bring this dwg or family into the project, then xyz or layer blue is now assigned this material in the project.  You can change the material in the family until you are blue in the face and it will not change in the project!   Since it is now in the project, you have to either change it there or purge it from the project.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 20, 2009 at 2:33:05 PM | Apply Revit materials to Sketchup import

#15

arkoh


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 20, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


@ WWhub

 

Appreciate your suggestion!

 

But when I go to the material settings in my model that my family with the Sketcup model has been placed... the materials look just fine! They have the surface color and material I have given them in the family and everything... and I can even see the surface color, in my model when I choose shading in my viewport, but they simply wont render as anything other than white... as in the Generic material in Revits material library (Thats what it looks like!)


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Import model from Sketchup to Revit- Materials not showing up in rendering

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Mar 17, 2010 at 6:27:25 PM

1

help for import sketchup file into revit

Community >> Newbies

Tue, May 29, 2012 at 7:21:24 AM

2

PROBLEM with assigning materials in imported components from Sketchup

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Oct 23, 2011 at 10:01:41 AM

1

SketchUp to Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 21, 2009 at 11:09:49 AM

0

Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 4:04:46 PM

24

Site Stats

Members:

1463942

Objects:

21001

Forum Posts:

150944

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3635

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights