RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

199 Users Online (65 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Tracing a jpeg of a topo map

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Nov 7, 2008 at 12:49:09 AM | Tracing a jpeg of a topo map

#1

velvetseas


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 7, 2008
32 Posts
No Rating


I am having a hard time tracing the topo lines on this jpeg that I imported.  I'm looking at it on the site plan drawing.  I guess I have 2 questions:

 

1)  Since the site elevation is at 185', and my building is drawn in revit at 0', how do combine the two to have my building sit at the correct elevation on the site?

2)  Also, is there a way to make the topography transparent as I trace the jpeg?  It's covering up the drawing I'm tracing, and because of the way the lines are drawn, it covers the lines I'm following.

 

Thanks in advance,

Ali


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 7, 2008 at 1:34:18 PM | Tracing a jpeg of a topo map

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


JPEG's are not linework - they are raster - therefore there is nothing to trace.

 

In REVIT, you would not draw contours - REVIT will create them.  What you should do is establish elevation points along the imported jpeg image.  When you place these points, you set their elevation on the options bar.

 

Site tab - toposurface - points.....



Edited on: Fri, Nov 7, 2008 at 7:37:33 AM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 7, 2008 at 1:52:42 PM | Tracing a jpeg of a topo map

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


1.  Don't worry about this initially, put your topo in and then move your levels up to the required level (best to use relocate project and switch to shared co-ordinates i find)...  You may then need to move your topo back down as it is associated to the level you've just moved.

2.  Just switch to wireframe...


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Material image map problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 7:37:29 PM

3

Fix scale in jpeg map

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 16, 2006 at 4:43:55 PM

0

Topo map not following CAD Contours

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 12, 2007 at 2:53:03 PM

2

TOPOGRAPHY - TOPO LINES NOT FOLLOWING SURVEY

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 10, 2009 at 1:52:34 AM

5

2d Location Map

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 8, 2005 at 10:58:49 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1567746

Objects:

21461

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1260

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights