RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

264 Users Online (129 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Attching objects to a toposurface

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Oct 24, 2008 at 11:48:35 AM | Attching objects to a toposurface

#1

2020


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 7, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


is there a way to attach an object such as a side-curb or a rpc object to a topo surface which is sloping (except for viewing it from all elevations and then moving it accordingly)? I do not know how to make my curb fall with the sloping surface and this seems to take ages manually.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 24, 2008 at 12:38:39 PM | Attching objects to a toposurface

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Site "is the weakest link" in REVIT at this time.  You can not do what you want - you end up having to do in place families or use walls and edit the profile.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 24, 2008 at 1:05:07 PM | Attching objects to a toposurface

#3

2020


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 7, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


Thanks WWhub, not what I wanted to hear but maybe Revit 2010 wil have this option.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 24, 2008 at 1:20:06 PM | Attching objects to a toposurface

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 199 Votes


I don't know if this is what do you need but, pick in the family you want (rpc...) pick in "EDIT", in Settings-Family and category parameters choose "Site" and uncheck "Always vertical", save and load to project...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 24, 2008 at 3:07:16 PM | Attching objects to a toposurface

#5

jmbitzer81


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2007
17 Posts
No Rating


 WWHub is correct, the site tools in Revit are horrible to use. 

However, I have attempted this work around a couple time. In order to get my curbs, sidewalks, etc to follow the slope of my topo, I use a floor or a pad.  Then slope the floor to match my topo by editing the corner elevation points.  To make sure my curb is at the correct elevation, I use the spot dimension tool on the topo, and then edit my floor to match (+ the appropriate curb height).

Hope that makes some sense.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Flat Toposurface

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 3, 2017 at 1:58:49 PM

6

Toposurface&subregion problems

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 6:47:06 AM

6

Toposurface in Elevations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 27, 2009 at 6:51:06 AM

4

what is the easy to do toposurface

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Feb 27, 2006 at 2:44:07 PM

14

Toposurface

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, May 11, 2010 at 2:04:45 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1566610

Objects:

21426

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1671

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights