RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

122 Users Online (121 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> REVIT 2009 VS ARCHICAD 12

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 3 of 3 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3

Wed, Aug 22, 2012 at 2:37:09 PM | REVIT 2009 VS ARCHICAD 12

#31

glenlake


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 11, 2012
25 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I used ArchiCAD for several years, and now I work in Revit on architectural and interior projects of the same kind.

Every time i see the word "parametric" in the family description, i am surprised how ignorant people could be. Who says that his model is a parametric one, probably, never worked with really parametric ones. Although Revit has many very interesting features (probably, last versions of ArchiCAD have thel as well), working with families in Revit is a real trouble. And discussions about modifying these families, about some tricks and methods i could compare only with discussions about, for instance, entering the streetcar through the window: you could use this and this technique, you can climb in a such way, it is very useful to wait when the streetcar slows down and then jomp into the window... etc. 

And many things which exist in ArchiCAD for 20 years don't exist in REvit 2012


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 22, 2012 at 2:48:36 PM | REVIT 2009 VS ARCHICAD 12

#32

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


I think you can't draw these conclusions until you have worked long enough with the product to fully use it.

 

Good luck.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 22, 2012 at 4:23:37 PM | REVIT 2009 VS ARCHICAD 12

#33

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


I have to agree with WWhub.  Its easy to step on any program you have never used before and say that your program is more efficient etc.  But that's not really the truth.  Revit offers so many upsides its unreal, and if it was a really bad program it wouldnt be so widely used.  The family creation can be tricky but once mastered the options of use are amazing.  There may be a different way to accomplish sertain single tasks but why is that a problem?  It gives you the option to choose what is the best way for you. 

"i am surprised how ignorant people could be"... So am I

 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 22, 2012 at 10:03:49 PM | REVIT 2009 VS ARCHICAD 12

#34

glenlake


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 11, 2012
25 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


The point is that i use Revit for about 4 years and ArchiCad - not in its full extend - for 10 years. Do you have to compare these applications?

I compare only the same things in both applications and here just say about parametric objects.

In Revit, when I want to try, say, five door handles for some dooor, I have to edit the family ans, probably, insert there some other families.

If a typical Revit door family goes with severaldifferent types of handles, sashes, materials, with or without lights, and window tupes go with all sash deepths, thicknesses, widths, mullion and shutters types and other elements adjustable in two clicks without editing a family, please tell me.

I definetly agree that some features in Revit are very interesting, but really when i try to do in Revit some things which are wery easily accessible in ArchiCAD, often it appears that they are impossible there. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 3 of 3 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit vs. Archicad [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 28, 2007 at 11:57:54 PM

15

Converting a Revit v 8.0 file into Archicad v10.0

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 24, 2009 at 4:21:51 PM

8

Revit vs Archicad

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 5:33:18 PM

5

Architect is using ArchiCAD Structural Consultant using Revit?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:23:30 PM

4

Wish it looks like ArchiCad

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, Nov 28, 2008 at 2:26:55 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1989292

Objects:

22877

Forum Posts:

152179

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3292

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights