RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

217 Users Online (127 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 8:52:38 PM | Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

#1

rwhite


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 20, 2008
9 Posts
No Rating


To all,

Is there any quick way to convert model lines to symbolic lines?  I want to be able to highlight all the model lines and convert them to symbolic lines.  Please help!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 9:25:27 PM | Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

#2

robinballew


active
robinballew Avatar

Joined: Sun, Nov 27, 2005
298 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


NO..Sounds like a good macro..

-----------------------------------
BallewDesigns.com

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:10:21 AM | Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


there are some cut and paste work arounds. if you do a search you might be able to find s thread on the subject.

HTH



Edited on: Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 6:11:13 AM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:13:51 PM | Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


I believe the work around is to export the view to cad with only the linework showing.  Delete all the lines, change all the lines in CAD to layer 0 or a layer you will recognize, then import the cad dwg and explode it.   Finally, delete the linetype with the same name as your import layer (0 ?) and all of your lines will be thin lines.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 1:56:01 PM | Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

#5

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


from Mr. Spot

"Make sure current view only is ticked when importing the dwg. This will effectively make them detail lines when the dwg is exploded."


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 6:41:48 PM | Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

#6

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i got this from Steve Stafford site Revit OpEd

Model Lines to Detail Lines (use sketch based detail element)- Select Model Lines and Cut to Clipboard (CTRL + X)- Start a new Filled Region and paste the lines in anywhere- Select the lines and cut to clipboard again- Cancel making the Filled Region- Paste into view - they are now Detail Lines--

 Detail Lines to Model Lines (use a sketch based model element)- Select Detail Lines and Cut to Clipboard (CTRL + X)- Start a new Floor and paste the lines in anywhere- Select the lines and cut to clipboard again- Cancel making the floor- Paste into view - they are now Model LinesI'd been using the Roof by Footprint do this for awhile but the floor is "quicker" since you don't have to choose the roof method first 8-). Technically you could just edit an existing floor or filled region and paste and cut and quit sketch to accomplish the same thing.



Edited on: Thu, Oct 16, 2008 at 5:23:51 AM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 15, 2008 at 7:20:04 PM | Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


Thanks coreed ....

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 6, 2009 at 8:13:30 AM | Changing from Model to Symbolic Lines

#8

rmaciel


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 23, 2007
6 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks, Coreed! A great time saver.

Ricardo


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Symbolic Lines and Model Lines

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 6:52:17 PM

0

Symbolic lines

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 26, 2006 at 8:24:22 AM

2

Symbolic vs Model Lines

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 15, 2006 at 12:25:02 AM

0

symbolic lines

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 14, 2006 at 1:15:41 AM

5

Windows above the Cutplane and Symbolic Lines (Revit2010)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 14, 2010 at 12:35:42 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1454114

Objects:

20599

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2674

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights