RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

175 Users Online (72 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> can i open 3ds models on revit 2009 with out havin 3dmax installed?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:20:52 PM | can i open 3ds models on revit 2009 with out havin 3dmax installed?

#1

ayoglasses


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 2, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


want to know if it is possible 2 open 3ds models on revit 2009 without havin autodest 3dmax installed on my system. or just let me know how 2 go about it

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:24:17 PM | can i open 3ds models on revit 2009 with out havin 3dmax installed?

#2

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


revit can't open 3ds files. so you will have to convert the file to dwg or ifc and you will need max for this.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:28:30 PM | can i open 3ds models on revit 2009 with out havin 3dmax installed?

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


also you can open any 3ds file as long you program supports 3ds, there is no need to have 3d max installed to open a 3ds file. the only requirement is that your program supports 3ds file format.

HTH


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:32:30 PM | can i open 3ds models on revit 2009 with out havin 3dmax installed?

#4

ayoglasses


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 2, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


thanks king.but after converting the downloaded models would the materials remain. sorry to bother you i'm new with revit

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:39:17 PM | can i open 3ds models on revit 2009 with out havin 3dmax installed?

#5

ayoglasses


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 2, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


thanks coreed. i agree with revit should be implemented not installed. "LONG LIVE REVIT" 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Best Reference to Rendering Revit Models in 3DS Max

Workflow & Implementation >> Training

Mon, Oct 31, 2011 at 4:00:38 PM

4

3ds Max Design 2009??? importing from Revit 2009???

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 27, 2009 at 2:01:56 AM

3

Export Mass from Revit 2009 to 3ds Max 2009

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 3:13:53 PM

0

HOW TO IMPORT 3DS files and DXF files into REVIT 2011?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 8, 2010 at 12:21:00 AM

1

Revit 2010 to 3ds Max Design 2010 vray 1.5 SP4

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 6:59:46 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1820622

Objects:

22574

Forum Posts:

152006

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6483

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights