RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

173 Users Online (57 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 3:13:44 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#1

Revboy


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 22, 2006
3 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I am using Revit Architecture 2009

I have a door schedule with well over 700 internal doors, and I am trying to schedule off the host wall thickness.

Ive tried creating an instance paramiter and constraining this to the wall (host front and back faces), this seems to work, until loaded into the project. The paramiter remains at the default and does not update depending on the host wall type.

Anyone know how to referance the host wall thickness in a door family or a suitable work-around?



Edited on: Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 10:19:10 AM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 3:17:18 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


You can't.  I believe this is on the wish list.  You will have to add a shared parameter - instance.... and fill it in.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 3:22:31 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#3

Revboy


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 22, 2006
3 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thiought so, thanks for the quick response, Its been tweaking my nipples all day.

I suppose id better get a coffee and get started.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 10, 2010 at 9:02:33 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#4

Luigiman


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 17, 2006
24 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi, has this changed in Revit 2010? I need my window and door schedule to show the "host" type . Any suggestions?? Thanks

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 10, 2010 at 9:09:18 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Same answer as last time.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 3, 2010 at 9:26:52 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#6

Luigiman


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 17, 2006
24 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks...

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 4, 2010 at 6:19:14 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#7

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


In a round-about way it is possible, just not inside of Revit itself.

If you export to ODBC, each door knows its host ID.  Each Host know its thickness (in meters as all ODBC measurements are in meters) Therefore you could construct a report or query that shows the host wall thickness in a door schedule, just not live inside of Revit.

The obvious question: Why can't I just do it inside of Revit?

Answer: Beats me.

 


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 4, 2010 at 8:37:26 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#8

Luigiman


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 17, 2006
24 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


jejeje, true... Thanks

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 7, 2011 at 10:40:30 AM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#9

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm trying to do something similar with 2012, only the wall type would be sufficient -- I don't need the thickness. Is this possible?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 7, 2011 at 1:36:34 PM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


We now have reporting parameters but here are the limitations:

A reporting parameter is a parameter type that has its value driven by a particular dimension in the family model. Reporting parameters extract a value from a geometric condition and use it to report the data to a formula or as a schedulable parameter. 

Length, radius, angle, and arc length are available as reporting parameters. (Arc length can be only labeled as a reporting parameter).


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 31, 2019 at 9:26:18 AM | Host wall thickness, in door schedule.

#11

koleman


active

Joined: Sun, Sep 9, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


So this means i can not report the host "Wall Type" Parameter. Right?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Door Family - wall thickness parameter!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 14, 2009 at 3:19:48 PM

1

Host Wall type in Door schedule

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, May 31, 2019 at 11:07:58 AM

1

Wall Thickness in Type Parameter

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 1, 2018 at 12:39:15 PM

5

Curtain Wall Door Head Heights Not Displaying in Door Schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 25, 2011 at 7:24:12 PM

5

from/to room data in door schedule of a host model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 15, 2020 at 3:47:42 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1551509

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151403

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9120

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights