RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

235 Users Online (73 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Horsepower

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 5:13:40 AM | Horsepower

#1

rdavies1973


active
rdavies1973 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 28, 2008
20 Posts
No Rating


What would be considered to be the minimum to really run Revit (2008 or newer) smoothly?

 

This includes printing with shadows, rendering etc? I realise that shadow work, rendering can take a long time, but sometimes it feels like a print  job (even to pdf) takes forever. (20-30 minutes to print one pdf with shadow work (3 townhouses))


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 2:53:41 PM | Horsepower

#2

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


i have a 3000$ workstation pc and still encounter long waiting times with revit ( not 20min but things like 5min)

still a long time to be waiting,

 

so i would say ,,, never enough!! Smile

with what is on the market today.

 

 


-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 7:29:47 PM | Horsepower

#3

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I recommend at least one Xeon Quad-core 2.5 gig+ 1333 mhz fsb for a processor. I have had an inifinitely greater amount of success with these types of processors rather than AMDs and Core 2 Duos.

For me ideally a dual quad-core with 64 bit OS and 64 bit Revit are the way to go.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 7, 2008 at 12:26:14 PM | Horsepower

#4

R7oky


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 24, 2006
25 Posts
No Rating


Is Revit a 64 bit software yet, i know Auto CAD Architecture 2009 is as i just had an up date for that but i dont know if Revit is 64bit yet? Can anyone tell me if it is yet?

 Thanks


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 7, 2008 at 4:51:33 PM | Horsepower

#5

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Sept 23 Autodesk release a 64 bit native Revit.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 8, 2008 at 3:50:59 PM | Horsepower

#6

blackhawk


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 15, 2006
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I agree with Alabaster, at minimum a quad-core processor (+2.5 ghz) with +3 GB ram. If you want it to run smoother visually, especially with regards to shadows, get at least a 512MB graphics card.

My specs are Quad-Core2 (2.5 ghz, 1333 fsb, 6 mb cache), 3GB ram (667 mhz), 256MB graphics card, 32 bit OS. Price was an issue, or I would have definitely went with a Xeon Quad, 4 GB ram and a 1GB graphics card. However, the total cost of my system with additional warranties, support, etc. was around $1300...(Dell deal). That thing can crank out a final, high quality, 600 dpi, 50 mb rendering in 20 minutes!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 8, 2008 at 5:12:40 PM | Horsepower

#7

brentschulze


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 26, 2004
3 Posts
No Rating


Go 64 bit, Its faster memory is real cheap, easy to get to 6gb -8gb for a minimal investment, quad core for sure im on a 2.0 xeon quad and it does fine, i have a 3.0ghz quad extreme at home which does better but i only have 2gb of ram at home, so between both machines they equal out just about.  Ive been on beta for x64 revit, i ran a Phil Reed Journal File from AU my Revit DVD x64 install (not written in x64 code) did the journal in 368seconds.  My x64 Revit beta did the same file in 320seconds.  The people in the x64 Beta forums however were getting down to 195seconds, but they were using power macs etc....


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit Mep connector

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 26, 2013 at 2:23:57 PM

0

New computer and Video Card

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Nov 23, 2010 at 4:16:05 PM

1

Revit & Graphics cards

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Mar 19, 2004 at 3:58:17 PM

1

Intermediate Revit user here looking for advice on 3ds max

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Sep 8, 2011 at 3:57:37 PM

0

Computer Specs for Running Revit

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 31, 2009 at 3:06:55 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1668401

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6833

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights