RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

215 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Oct 5, 2008 at 6:58:41 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#1

Jorit


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 5, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to add a new category parameter in the Label Edit for a title block. As soon as i load my title block with the new created label into my project the label comes up as a red "?"... anyone any clever ideas?

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Oct 5, 2008 at 7:38:36 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hi, First you must go (here) to the forum and try to check if there is some "Threads" with that similar issue, then if there isn't, put here your question. You must use a "Shared Parameter" in that label/title block, see this: http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=6548

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, Oct 5, 2008 at 7:45:40 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#3

Jorit


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 5, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


thank you, i will try that Smile


This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Oct 5, 2008 at 7:51:04 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


You Welcome, if it will have some difficulty with "Shared Parameters" first take a look in "Help Menu" of Revit....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 11:16:44 AM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Jorit,
.
Adding custom labels to a title block is a rather tricky exercise to fully explain in words or even text which is unfortunate because it's one of the first things people usually want to do in REVIT as a beginner.
.
As long as all you need are the 'out of the box' labels that come with the Title Block template files you're ok. But if you want to add a label that is NOT part of the out of the box supplied labels you start on a small journey of creating shared parameters and project parameters.
.
See the (silent) video link below for a demonstration on incorporating Shared Parameters, Labels, Project Parameters and Title Blocks.
.
Click the link to play or right click and 'Save Target As . . ' to download.
.
This video has no audio but it's pretty easy to follow.
.
First you have to create a shared Parameter File. File > Shared Parameters.
.
Then you make shared parameter(s) in the shared parameter file. (client number, client address etc.).
.
Then you include those shared parameters as labels in your title block family. (add parameter).
.
Save the title block family and load it into a project.
.
Then within the actual project file where the title block has been loaded, you have to add the shared parameters again as 'Project Parameters'. It seems weird but that's how it's done.
.
You have to make the new project parameters 'Instance' and Category 'Drawing Sheet' or Catagory 'Project Information'. * This is critical.
.
If you make them Category 'Project Information' you can control the values from the Project Information dialog box under the Settings pulldown menu. (and also in the title block properties?)
.
The 'Category' you use as the project parameter will also determine how you can schedule the information later.
.
You can visit www.CADclips.com for lots more free REVIT tutorials.
.
Reading up on Shared Parameters is also a good idea. They are a powerful aspect for tagging and scheduling custom content.


Edited on: Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 6:20:16 AM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 1:05:29 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#6

Jorit


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 5, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Thank you so much. I gave up this morning at 5, coz I just couldn’t ready any more. I will give this a shot.

 

Kind regards

Jorit


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 1:28:26 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#7

Jorit


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 5, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


This was exactly what I needed, life saver Smile


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 6, 2008 at 5:36:39 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#8

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Yes, I clearly recall the frustration of getting custom labels to work in a title block myself. It's really not explained to well. Or at least the logic anyway.

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 21, 2008 at 2:27:06 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#9

Mike1407


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 8, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


Dgcad - Thanks for the great video. I have one question though. At 03.00 minutes you click to add a "label" and the "edit label" dialog box appears. I have completed all the steps in the video and cannot make this dialog box come up. I've searched Revit Help to no avail. Any suggestions? My title block is attached.



This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 13, 2008 at 3:28:46 PM | How do I create Labels in the Title Block Editor?

#10

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


It sounds like perhaps you are using an oler version of REVIT? This dialog box is a newer feature. Also, you have to actually pick a point on the editing screen before the new label dialog box shows up. It's weird how it works. Nothing happens until you pick a point end then the dialog box opens up.

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Title Block labels

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Apr 9, 2007 at 3:04:03 AM

2

Title Block Labels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 14, 2007 at 5:52:49 PM

0

Title Labels [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 29, 2013 at 5:54:18 PM

16

Title block labels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 23, 2010 at 11:09:42 PM

1

Title Block Labels

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 21, 2008 at 6:14:02 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1649750

Objects:

22095

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 16.5212

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights