RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

189 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Dimension This....

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 2, 2005 at 10:12:46 PM | Dimension This....

#1

parleyburnett


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 3, 2005
24 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Ok, I have my "floor plan" split into two parts for two different sheets. (The building entirely was too large for the desired scale.) However, I still wish to show an overall dimension. I realize that doing such is not quite ideal because on each sheet you'll see only apx. half of the dimension line. Aparently revit designers forsaw this and made it imposible to have dimension lines that extend beyond crop regions show up. Is there some kind of work-around or do I really need to "line draw" the dimension line. I would hope not to do this because doing such seems to be a mockery of revits true nature and capabilities. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 3, 2005 at 4:38:44 AM | RE: Dimension This....

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


You used to be able to do this prior to version 6.0 and i wish they'd bring that functionality back. Only method now would be to dimension whole, then use a filled region to block the unwanted section of the drawing... So the crop region would be set to show the whole building.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 6:32:01 PM | Dimension This....

#3

Deeza


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 27, 2007
16 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Are these still the only two solutions for this issue, or has Revit addressed it in v.2010?

-----------------------------------

Deeza

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 7:01:20 PM | Dimension This....

#4

Bimman


active
Bimman Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 17, 2003
360 Posts
1 Stars: 2 Votes


i can select the dimmension and choose the "replace text with" and put in a typed dim. it will not let you use numbers to start the text. so you need to place a period first then you can put your dim text in the space.  It is work around and the only reason i use a period is because it is the smallest designator i can find. So it usaually just looks like a ink spot left by the printer. i know not a very good practice but sometimes you ahve to fudge it a little.

-----------------------------------
PWD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 7:13:56 PM | Dimension This....

#5

Deeza


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 27, 2007
16 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Oh, yeah - I know Revit won't allow a dimension-only override (unless you use the . method or this character: ” ).  I was actually referring to parleyburnett's question about "split" floor plan views.

My building is too large to fit on one sheet at 1/8" scale, so I had to split it across two sheets.  The overall dimensions are outside the crop and annotation regions for both views, and therefore disappears.  

Other than detail lines or crop regions hiding half the building, is there any way to view a "partial dimension"?


-----------------------------------

Deeza

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 7:21:36 PM | Dimension This....

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


I sometimes use a detail line - Dimension to that and start my dimension over-ride with OVERALL BUILDING xxx'-xx".  Any text at the beginning will work.

 

If you are not doing dependent views, you can split the plan and use the split to hide all but the end line you dimension to...then maybe the invisible line tool on that?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 7:23:47 PM | Dimension This....

#7

Bimman


active
Bimman Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 17, 2003
360 Posts
1 Stars: 2 Votes


i see what your saying now.  have had projects like that as well, what we did was have view with a scale large enough to fit on one sheet that had all of our overall and some larger intermittent dims and the had the as a "parent view " for other view dependent views which were set to 1/8" at a lager scale and used a matchline to split them. so our view view which i think was at 1/16th was just for overall dims like a "course view" and them broke them out in more detail in the dependent view. 

So to answer your question i would say no since i have not been able to it that way.  the rest of my typing was for your reading plaesure and maybe some other ideas of ways to handle your situtation.


-----------------------------------
PWD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 7:27:00 PM | Dimension This....

#8

Bimman


active
Bimman Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 17, 2003
360 Posts
1 Stars: 2 Votes


hub,

i like your way also, i will have to write that down. might be able to use that sometime.


-----------------------------------
PWD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 8:05:21 PM | Dimension This....

#9

Deeza


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 27, 2007
16 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Thanks for the ideas, WWhub & Bimman.  Guess we'll have to stick with work-arounds until Autodesk picks up this feature!

-----------------------------------

Deeza

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Activate Dimension

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 13, 2011 at 6:53:44 PM

3

Dimension strings not adding up to the total length dimension string (2017)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 23, 2018 at 6:33:58 AM

1

Dimension Text [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 8, 2008 at 2:15:07 PM

18

"EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Aug 24, 2008 at 5:08:50 PM

15

Dimension Question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 23, 2011 at 5:41:34 PM

10

Site Stats

Members:

1794971

Objects:

22512

Forum Posts:

151983

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1220

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights