RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

246 Users Online (96 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Worksets >> Saving/unlinking a Workset Without Updating

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 4:05:31 PM | Saving/unlinking a Workset Without Updating

#1

RevitCity07


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 11, 2007
23 Posts
No Rating


We have one project with 2 Worksets.  The first workset is fully updated.  The second workset has not been updated in a few weeks, and since then, the design of the building has changed dramatically.  How can I unlink this second workset from the central file to save this previous work as a reference.  And do all of this without reloading?  Kind of like if we exported to Autocad right now from that file, but how can we achieve a standalone un-updated copy by using Revit?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 4:17:56 PM | Saving/unlinking a Workset Without Updating

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


? ? ?

Worksets are not the same as design options.  If you have changed workset A and nothing has changed in workset B then so what?  Workset A does not directly affect workset B anyway.  


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 4:24:13 PM | Saving/unlinking a Workset Without Updating

#3

RevitCity07


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 11, 2007
23 Posts
No Rating


Yes, but I want to move Workset B to another location and rename it, completely unlinking it from the central file so the changes I make in that can never be made to the central file.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 5:24:51 PM | Saving/unlinking a Workset Without Updating

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Worksets are part of the model and thus cannot be un-linked.  For instance - if you have furniture in an interiors workset, the furniture sits on a floor that may be in the architectural workset.  The furniture can not reside without the host floor.

 

You can always have two files and copy between the two ... you can have a file that only has the building and another file that copy monitors the building file but only has the furnishings.  But this process is not really using worksets.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Mapping of Materials in Worksets keep unloading when saving to central?

Workflow & Implementation >> Worksets

Wed, Sep 7, 2005 at 10:53:09 PM

5

Saving Elements to Separate Files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 at 10:00:28 PM

2

Updating Central file (multiple users)

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, May 15, 2009 at 4:44:33 PM

1

Visibility Dialog Slow to Appear

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 1, 2016 at 1:28:14 PM

1

updating model

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 5, 2013 at 1:59:53 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1529351

Objects:

21317

Forum Posts:

151305

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.4022

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights