RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

207 Users Online (70 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> The Ultimate Revit Computer System

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 4 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next >>

Thu, Feb 26, 2004 at 9:07:35 AM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#16

Beauceron


Joined: Wed, Feb 25, 2004
3 Posts
No Rating


A Pc with dual processors is definitly the way to go. If you get a SCSI disk as well then you`ll be able to do some real dualtasking. With this setup you can (if you have to) set one CPU to do the rendering and one to whatever else it is you do!

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 7, 2006 at 10:14:43 AM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#17

Will9000


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 28, 2005
117 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Machine just ordered, is there anything missing?? Dell Precision 490 Intel Two Dual Core Xeon (3.0 GHz,1333Mhz, 4MB) 4GB DDR2 533 Quad Channel FBD Memory (4x1GB) 3.5in 1.44MB Floppy Drive 1463GB (15,000rpm) SAS Hard Drive450 Cyberlink Software Decode v5.7 Roxio Creator Delux (no Media) Precision Resource CD SAS NO RAID for 1 Hard Drive 750W-256MB nVidia Quadro FX3450 (MRGA13) Graphics Card Dell Black 2 Button USB Scroll Optical Mouse Dell Enhanced USB Black Multimedia Kybd English - Genuine Windows XP Professional X64bit Edition (No Media) Microsoft Windows XP SP2 Edition Media/Recovery CD 3Y NBD (Next Business Day) On-site

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 7, 2006 at 11:05:33 AM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#18

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i would atleast take a look at the new Intel Core2 Duo Processors they scream!!! HTH Post edited on 2006-09-07 06:06:24

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 7, 2006 at 2:30:06 PM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#19

allstate45


active
allstate45 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 26, 2006
77 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


What I am thinking aout geting Toshiba Satellite Notebook PC (P105-S9312) Processor Processor brand Intel® Processor type Core Duo Processor speed 2.0GHz Frontside bus speed 667 Level 2 cache 2MB Memory RAM 2048MB PC5300 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM RAM expandable to: 4096MB Storage/Drives Hard drive size 200GB 4200RPM SATA Graphics and sound Screen size 17" Screen type WXGA+ TFT active-matrix with TruBrite™ Maximum screen resolution 1440 x 900 Video memory 256MB DDR3 Graphics type nVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 7900 GS

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 7, 2006 at 5:30:51 PM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#20

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i think since Revit is Processor intensive, you guys want to make sure you get the Core2 Duo and not just Core Duo. i think Core2 Duo processor is the latest version which should allow a 1066 MHz Front Side Bus capability HTH Post edited on 2006-09-07 12:31:25

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 7, 2006 at 7:31:07 PM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#21

josta


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
69 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Don't forget the Dell 30" LCD monitor and the graphics card for it! hee hee

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 7, 2006 at 8:07:32 PM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#22

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i'm going with the 30" Apple Cinema

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 7, 2006 at 8:46:16 PM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#23

rubiks cube


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 5, 2004
31 Posts
No Rating


Dual core intel Xeon proc + appropriate mobo nvidia quadro FX 4500 PCIe 512mb video card 16 gigs ram WATCH REVIT SCREAM callum

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 8, 2006 at 5:34:18 AM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#24

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


this is really easy... the Core2 Duo Processors (conroe) became available on the first of september everywhere.. starting at $222 this is what we have all been waiting for.. just go get one and start flying.. but who knows about what graphics card will work since revit is so fickle about cards..so just try a few.. no big deal

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 9, 2006 at 3:59:58 PM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#25

Kahbuka


active

Joined: Sat, Sep 9, 2006
7 Posts
No Rating


Have you tried running it on a Mac?

This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 28, 2006 at 1:08:30 AM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#26

Kahbuka


active

Joined: Sat, Sep 9, 2006
7 Posts
No Rating


So, I take no one has ever tried to run Revit on a Mac with a Windows operating system. I hearing that it is two times faster than the fastest PC...

This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 28, 2006 at 12:51:07 PM | RE: The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#27

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


hold your horses !!! in November Intel will start shipping the first versions of its Quad-processors for the Intel Core 2 Duo processors. Should really help with rendering in accurender, Max, etc.... i think one of the most important things do look at if you plan on buying new computer is how processor upgradeable is the mother board. the second release of Quad Processors is scheduled for January, 2007. if you can live without the hype, there should be some great deals this christmas on machines that will run Revit just fine. HTH Post edited on 2006-10-28 07:52:32

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 1, 2006 at 2:11:46 PM | The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#28

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


If I was looking for a new machine I wouldn't upgrade just yet. With the new Windows Vista, Core 2 Duo's and the potential of some new releases form both ATi and Nvidia I would be silly to order now. I also know that AMD should have few tricks up their sleeves this Christmas. Now the only question you should be asking yourself is what I should be looking out for and what does Revit work the best with.

 

As for the question with regards to Mac and Revit it has been tried and it does work but it can only be done via certain program. Phil had a thread dedicated to showing how he had it up and running on the mac on AUGI. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 1, 2006 at 11:37:42 PM | The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#29

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


I got to say most of the time you could wait forever for the new stuff to come out because it never stops coming out. If you can wait, yeah obviously the stuff that's expensive now will get cheaper quick. I bought my x2-4400 for like $500 and now they're what....$200? The new processors coming out are just great for all of us. AMD's gotta be cooking something big up behind the scene.

 I definitely would NOT get a SCSI drive and here's why. #1 they run a little louder than a 7200 rpm drive. Most good motherboards will support large RAID configs. I've got 4-250 mb serials in RAID 0 and it hauls some serious curse. It took 9 minutes to load windows after the format (which took forever)and a reboot is in less than 20 seconds. In theory (or not), my "hard drive" is running at 28,800 rpm and I paid $320 for a terabyte (which now they're cheaper too). Programs load up really fast. I have another computer that I back up my files on so I don't lose anything.

 But...I think I would still be quite happy with that system you got there. That sounds like a beast of a machine. The only thing I wished I did on mine is the liquid cooling. The fans are pretty loud.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 2, 2006 at 1:35:21 PM | The Ultimate Revit Computer System

#30

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


You get fans that are designed to be as silent as if you had liquid cooling. They are only a little bit more pricy than your standard fans but they are well worth it.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 4 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Looking to buy a new computer system

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Sep 28, 2010 at 6:36:54 PM

6

Computer System

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 10, 2006 at 9:27:09 AM

1

Revit 2015 Ultimate / Standard compatibility?

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Wed, Oct 1, 2014 at 11:10:21 PM

2

Best computer setup for Revit 2001

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Mar 1, 2011 at 9:35:00 PM

2

System Requirements

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 19, 2007 at 3:45:07 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1704362

Objects:

22263

Forum Posts:

151781

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9414

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights