RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

162 Users Online (161 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> muntin parameters for variable windows

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 28, 2005 at 2:09:43 AM | muntin parameters for variable windows

#1

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Sun, Mar 27, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


we are new revit users, and specialise in renos to brisbane timber houses, so need to create special timber revit windows that match the buildings. i am setting equal dimensions to reference planes, and locked dimensions from them to the actual muntin. but when it is placed in a model, and we want to adjust height or width say, it does not keep all muntins equicentred. i know the answer is simple, but can i be dumb and ask for help please?

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 28, 2005 at 2:25:19 AM | RE: muntin parameters for variable windows

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Flex it in the family first, it should report errors asking you to unconstrain. Select to unconstrain and there lies your problem. You mention you have dimensioned between the muntins and the reference plane. Is this done in the muntin sketch? If not it should be. If your extrusion is in the perpendicular plane then you'll have to add reference planes for your muntin width and dimension these off the equally constrained reference planes. then stretch your muntins to lock to these... This is going on the assumption that the muntins are not nested families, if so let me know and i'll explain the problem for that... Cheers.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 28, 2005 at 3:13:25 AM | RE: muntin parameters for variable windows

#3

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Sun, Mar 27, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


thanks mr spot! so good to receive a reply so fast from the famous one. i will look into your suggestions and get back to you. thanks again.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 13, 2006 at 2:16:45 PM | muntin parameters for variable windows

#4

bballew


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 27, 2006
23 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm working on a similar issue, but I don't know the first thing about where to start with dynamic muntins. Where is the muntin sketch option? Do I make them in the family as extrusions or what is the best way to approach it?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 13, 2006 at 4:01:12 PM | muntin parameters for variable windows

#5

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Sun, Mar 27, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


hi there

since my post all those months ago, and mr spot's advice, i have learnt a bit more.  yes you need to create the muntins as extrusions, or sweeps, but i find best as extrusions, as part of the main frame.  i now put reference planes on the family first, and then fully flex as mr spot suggests.  if that all works, only then do i begin sketching.  and mr spot as always is right - be very careful about over constraining things.  i have found that usually 'offset' is the best for muntins when sketching them, without any dimensions, locked or not.  as in offset from reference planes.  the only way to figure this out i found was to keep trying, reading help, and looking at posts by the experts like mr spot.  and studying other's families.  have a go!


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 13, 2006 at 4:10:57 PM | muntin parameters for variable windows

#6

bballew


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 27, 2006
23 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Yeah, I've been making them as extrusions, but they only work with that family type. I haven't been constraining anything, usually just taking an existing window or door and editing them to suite. The extruded muntins I've made don't want to work if i make new family types that are bigger or smaller. yeah, its obvious I'm new and don't know what I'm doing. Winking So I'm missing a few steps probably.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Family with angle parameters.....

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 18, 2012 at 8:43:04 AM

6

Window Family with Muntins

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 8, 2015 at 12:55:44 PM

3

Muntin parametric array for a window

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 22, 2012 at 10:55:28 AM

3

Muntin Thickness

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 12, 2009 at 3:13:33 PM

3

A Super Flex Door Family?

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Nov 6, 2007 at 9:14:46 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

2001452

Objects:

22886

Forum Posts:

152181

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6542

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights