RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

424 Users Online (237 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 11, 2008 at 11:51:46 AM | top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

#1

fredc83


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 3, 2008
30 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I've created a pipe (for the drainage of water on the roof) as a family(just a simple solid extrusion with a void extrusion).I've added a paramter lenght as an instance parameter so i can change the length of the pipe. Now I want to make this family easier to use and add a parameter in the  family type so i can pick the top constraint off the pipe e.g. my roof level and the bottom constraint e.g. my ground level just like you can do with walls, which will be much easier than entering a value in the length parameter. Is this possible and does anyone know how? I'm using Revit Architecture 2009.

Greetings


This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 8:35:30 AM | top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

#2

fredc83


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 3, 2008
30 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Has someone a solution for this problem?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 8:40:48 AM | top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Hi Fred, i'm not sure what are you trying to do, if you put some screen shots i think i can help you... what are you trying to do is "create" those "Blue Arrows" in top an bottom like in walls?

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 10:00:02 AM | top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

#4

fredc83


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 3, 2008
30 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


First of all thanks for your reaction on my post.

In the attachment you see on the left side of the image the drainage I've created with his element properties, and on the right side a wall with his element properties. As you see in the element properties of the wall, there is a possibility to make a top and base constraint. This is what I want to add in the family I've created as an instance parameter. I think the blue handles you've mentioned in your post may stand for that base and top constraint. Hopefully you can give me a solution, it would make my family much easier to use.



Attached Images

44709_Pipe_and_wall.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 10:16:42 AM | top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Hi, that "Base and Top Constrains" in the Wall is by default in the category, you can create in that plumbing family some ref. planes or ref. lines and with dimensions create some parameters to control what do you need, don't forget to "Lock" the obj. to the Ref. planes or lines.... by the way, if you do this you have those "Blue Arrows" to "stretch" your family....

 

 



Edited on: Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 8:13:44 AM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 11:10:33 AM | top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

#6

fredc83


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 3, 2008
30 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


but is it possible to make a pull down menu to attach the top and base of the plumbing fixture to a certain level like you can do with walls?

Edited on: Tue, Sep 16, 2008 at 2:16:45 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 8:27:55 PM | top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

#7

blueshift17


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 9, 2009
6 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


Did you ever find a solution to this? I am in a very similar situation. Thanks


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 9:49:38 PM | top/base constraint as a parameter in family types

#8

Bronsart


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 9, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


Maybe a wishlist issue... but I also wish use base constraints (a level) and top constraints (a level) instead of having to use a height parameter (simular to a wall family).

You can do this, but you might need to remake your drain family.  What you'll have to do is make a "column" family instead of plumbing.  This will work as long as you are not scheduling your drain pipes.  The column family template as two levels, upper level & lower level.  See PDF...



This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Adding Base/Top Constraint to Family Member

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 10:16:39 PM

2

Fill in Space between floors/levels

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Oct 18, 2013 at 6:31:33 PM

0

Filter walls by floor level or base constraint??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jun 9, 2013 at 2:25:24 AM

3

Elevation at Top Parameter for Structural Column Schedule?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 9, 2015 at 10:56:15 PM

1

Family types - conditional statement

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 18, 2011 at 8:59:50 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1512214

Objects:

21252

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0952

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights