RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

236 Users Online (120 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> What do i need to run revit?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 at 3:29:48 PM | What do i need to run revit?

#1

Boarch


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 24, 2004
17 Posts
No Rating


What do i need to run revit? What kind of prossessor, Graphics-card, ram etc. I've been asking around, but have not got a good answere. Can anyone help me?

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 at 5:55:13 PM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#2

Rookwood


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 2, 2003
36 Posts
No Rating


PC or Laptop? PC: Preferably Dual Zeon processors with OpenGL graphics card and 4GB RAM (I realize only 2.78 GB can be read currently, but that will change in a few weeks). As much storage capacity that you can afford. IF you render, the file sizes get enormous. On a typical residential project, my file sizes start at 30MB (partly because of how much I have loaded into my template). Notebook: P4 600 series processor, NVIDIA Quadro OpenGL graphics card and dual 60 GB 7200 RPM hard drives. I just had a $5,500 PC installed yesterday with the above specs and 500BG RAID storage. Loaded REVIT and went to render a site plan...processor usage was at 100% during render time. It took one hour on this machine. FAST but 100% processor usage! I have a Dell Inspiron 8500 notebook, certainly not a worstation machine, which does very well with ADT and REVIT during construction drawing. I tried to render an interior elevation of a Great Room the other evening and after 9 hours for rendering it was only at 6% completion. Get a workstation (PC or Notebook) with OpenGL graphics and Zeon or P4 processor(s). Life will be sweet with the proper equipment and a nightmare without it. LOL

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 at 7:31:47 PM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#3

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


We run 6 Revit PC's and most are 2.8 Ghz P4's with 512MB RAM, 64MB video card. Open GL is nice, but only a few cards are supported by Revit. I would reccomend 1GB RAM though. Just for giggles I installed Revit on my mom's Dell I bought her for Christmas (2.4 Celeron, 512MB RAM, onboard video) $349 total including monitor and Revit runs fine. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 at 11:41:25 PM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


It really depends on what type of projects and what type of work you plan on using it for. If working on high-rise unit developments etc (files in excess of 80MB), you would be best off with a minimum of 2Gig ram. If you plan on doing a lot of rendering that dual processor is the way to go. But essentially the fastest processor you can afford (priority 1), then absolute bare minimum 1 Gig ram, and a decent video card (ATI cards tend to work well with Revit). HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 22, 2005 at 12:15:17 AM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#5

Rookwood


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 2, 2003
36 Posts
No Rating


How does your mother's computer run while rendering with Revit. My Dell Inspiron 8500 notebook with a 2.4 P 4M and 1 GB RAM runs great with Revit until I try to render. The local 3d pros tell me that the OpenGL card is the single most important item to consider when configuring a workstation computer. All of the workstation notebooks I have seen are OpenGL, while the big time gaming computers (Voodoo, Alienware, etc.) are not.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 22, 2005 at 5:18:49 AM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#6

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


okay boys... Im running revit on a 800 meg processor with 512 ram and 60 gigs hd space..and a 7600 ATI radeon card and it runs fine. Iam upgrading to a 3gig processor and 1 gig ram a ATI 9600 card next month... I think it all depends on how you have your video settings..Me I deal with digital design so I have my setting at a digital spec. But really...The Revit render engine isnt quite a Maya or a 3D max rendering engine yet.. So you dont really need a Hot Rod to run revit!

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 22, 2005 at 11:14:26 AM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#7

Boarch


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 24, 2004
17 Posts
No Rating


tomdinmn, do you know the names of thoose graphic-cards that support revit?

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 22, 2005 at 3:57:40 PM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#8

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


In response to how rendering would work on my mom's lost cost Dell, I don't think I would use it to do rendering if I made my living off renderings. Most people though really don't render that much and when they do they do it incorrectly. Most of our renders at work take less than 20 minutes as we make extensive use of RPC's so we are only doing the model geometry which doesn't take that long. As to what Open GL cards work in Revit, I don't have that answer. Over at AUGI there is a sticky post with what users have found to work. We have not gone Open GL as we have a different theory. For the price of an open GL card, we can buy another machine, and run individual render scenes on multiple machines at the same time. I would rather have four scenes going at once overnight than one. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 22, 2005 at 5:03:05 PM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#9

jimmyr6


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 18, 2004
2 Posts
No Rating


when choosing a system for revit, you need to decide if its an "all around computer" or just for drawing, it took me a while to come up with a computer that runs Revit it the way I wanted it to. Dell XPS gen 4 with 3.4ht 2 gigs of ram, 500 gigs of storage and nvidia 6800gt video card, an open GL card is nice but very expensive. if you go with an ATI card like the 650xt and make into the fireGL 3100 or Nvidia 6800gt into 6800 ultra you can softmod them to an open GL (they cant be oem, Sad dell gateway etc.) my whole package cost me around $2000.00 w/ monitor. you can also check your 3D rendering by downloading a program called 3ds mark from futuremark, used mostly for gaming but very usefull for any 3d program, I also use 3D studio max and Viz.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 22, 2005 at 6:45:21 PM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#10

johnfire


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 24, 2005
28 Posts
No Rating


I have a P4 3.2Ghz w/ 2 gigs of ram w/ 128mb graphics card w/ 800mhz front side bus and I seem to lock up on a regular basis. Not what I was lead to believe at the Revit test drive we attended. Working on a small remodeling project currently and have a file size in the area of 24mb. Substantialy larger than anything have done in the past except for Viz. I would get the absolute fastest and biggest machine you can.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 6, 2005 at 2:33:29 PM | RE: What do i need to run revit?

#11

Boarch


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 24, 2004
17 Posts
No Rating


thx all

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

REVIT 2015 Stair - Straight Run to Curve Run

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 5, 2014 at 5:06:59 AM

9

Triple Run Stairs 2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 24, 2007 at 2:03:44 PM

8

Making Revit run better.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 12:25:21 PM

1

Will Revit MEP run on tihs?

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jun 21, 2011 at 2:40:06 PM

1

railing outside stair run?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 10, 2007 at 3:35:32 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1758799

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8682

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights