RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

216 Users Online (94 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 8:39:50 PM | Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

#1

ktam


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 8, 2006
15 Posts
No Rating


Does anybody note that certain families when loaded to the project come with an instant parameter: constraint offset, while other families do not and are locked to the level where you placed them and you and not move them up or down because there is no offset in the constaints parameter. For example if you put a desk or a chair (families which come with Revit) in your project, when you click on the component and see its property, you cannot see the "offset" parameter under constraints. That means it can not be moved up or down from the floor level.  However if you place a TV ( the one come with Revit) in you project, when you click on the component, you will see the "offset" parameter which allow you to move it up or down.

I studies the two families and tried as many things as I can think of to investigate but found no answer.  Even I erased everything in the desk family and recreate a simply box instead, when I reloaded to the project, the component still stuck to th level where you created it.

I am curious of what is the difference between the two families, both are under furniture category.  What governs a family to have an "offset" parameter under constraints when it is loaded to a project.

Anybody has any idea?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 8:59:38 PM | Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

#2

Belinski


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 27, 2007
81 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


The tv has that offset because tvs dont go on the ground they need to be offset a certain distance up the wall

 

and the exact opposite goes for the desk and chair, they will always be on the ground so they dont need the offset.

 

if you want to add that offset to something, then you just have to add that parameter to a reference line ( that is locked to the object) and the groundline.

Edited on: Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 4:00:01 PM

Edited on: Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 4:00:24 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 9:35:43 PM | Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

#3

ktam


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 8, 2006
15 Posts
No Rating


But when I examined the TV family, there is no parameter as "offset".  The "offset" parameter is with the project file not the family file.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 10:26:33 PM | Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

#4

Belinski


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 27, 2007
81 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Thats because it is from the library and it has to do with the way they made it.

it is basically just a hidden parameter in the family, so if you need to use this offset for something else, it is possible to make yourself


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 21, 2008 at 5:09:40 AM | Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

#5

ktam


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 8, 2006
15 Posts
No Rating


But if I create my own family, the offset is always there when it is loaded to the project.  My question is how can you create a family without that offset parameter when it is loaded to project, i.e. component will always stick to the floor level.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 1, 2013 at 8:41:00 PM | Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

#6

samuelfour


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 8, 2008
3 Posts
No Rating


As you say, some Furniture Families have the Master Revit Parameter for Offset (like TVs), while others do not have the Parameter (Seating).  I came across the same issues you raise... just because a chair is typically on a floor, it does not mean there are cases when I need to offset the seat (every model has unique geometry conditions). 

The solution is to open a pre-built family (such as TV) which already has the Offset Parameter.  Now, open your non-offset family and copy the geometry.  Once you have deleted the original geometry from the Offset Family, you can Paste in the geometry from the Non-Offset Family.  When you save, the magic Offset Parameter appears in the Main Model. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Family Constraints Issue Fix

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jan 15, 2009 at 11:18:54 PM

1

Instance Parameter for Variable offset from Ref Level Not behaving Window Fam

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 5, 2014 at 10:15:32 PM

7

Tagging offset parameter

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 27, 2010 at 8:47:47 PM

6

Creating Families - bugs, limitations or my ignorance?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 11, 2005 at 2:58:38 AM

3

Default Constraints in window family

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, May 5, 2012 at 12:13:48 AM

11

Site Stats

Members:

1534308

Objects:

21326

Forum Posts:

151334

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8319

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights