RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

230 Users Online (99 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Locking nested families?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 5:16:43 PM | Locking nested families?

#1

ChopperDave


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
38 Posts
No Rating


What I want to have is a way to swap out doors with nested families on some casework I'm making. It works fine as long as nothing needs to change size. The casework I made however is stretchable and thats when the doors start breaking.

If I lock the sides of a stretchable panel, from one of the nested families, to refrence lines in the main family, and change the nested family type in the project it gives me errors that it can't create the family(because of the locks.)

Basically my question is can you lock a nested family so it can be resized or moved? Is this the correct way to go about doing this?

I can provide a file if that was too confusing.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 5:52:28 PM | Locking nested families?

#2

Belinski


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 27, 2007
81 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Hi,

yes, you can lock nested families to the main families, and make them work together but...

both of them need to be adjustable in order to be compatible with one another, so you need to fix the door so it will stop breaking and then this process should work.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 6:51:00 PM | Locking nested families?

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Hi, you must to have in attention the ref. lines and what do you lock to what... some dimensions with parameters could help when you create the families...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 7:09:47 PM | Locking nested families?

#4

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


you need to change nested families with parameters set up in that family.  locking to it won't stretch it.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 7:59:22 PM | Locking nested families?

#5

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


You can also link parameters from the nested family to the base family. Select the nested family; element properties; select the parameter(s) click onthe ... button and select a parameter from the host family.

 

If none of that works post your family.

 

Nick


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 6:44:19 PM | Locking nested families?

#6

ChopperDave


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
38 Posts
No Rating


Sorry it took so long to respond. Been working on another project. I got the doors to stop breaking the family. Now the panels won't stay locked to the reference planes. If you switch to a panel type that's not the starting one they seem to go where ever they want.

The files are attached.

Any help would be appreciated.



Edited on: Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 1:47:02 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 6:46:47 PM | Locking nested families?

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


"The files are attached." - You forgot to do it....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 6:49:49 PM | Locking nested families?

#8

ChopperDave


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
38 Posts
No Rating


Ya it doesn't want to let me put them up. www.cgbuilder.com/Media/paneltest.rar

Edited on: Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 1:52:24 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 7:34:22 PM | Locking nested families?

#9

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Hi, test it and tell something...

 



Attached Files

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 8:03:06 PM | Locking nested families?

#10

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


You don't create dimension EQ passing the CENTER Ref. Plane (Left/Right) in ref Level, if you see in your original file, you create an aditional ref. plane and you ignore that REF. PLANE, (CENTER-Left/Right/Top/Bottom), if they exist in the family creation is to USE IT....

 



Edited on: Thu, Aug 28, 2008 at 2:42:29 PM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 8:17:21 PM | Locking nested families?

#11

ChopperDave


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
38 Posts
No Rating


The main issue was that I was trying to get the panels to be able to switch types to another nested family. That was when it was becoming unlocked. The panels are under generic models and they are all basically copies of each other but when the family gets swaped, either in the project or the family itself, they lose thier locks.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 9:21:37 PM | Locking nested families?

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


I don't know what panels you are swapping but it may be easier to have them all in the family and only show the ones you want at each type location.  Type 1 has panel A... Type II has panel B etc.  You then just set a visibility switch. 

 

The trouble with this approach is that if you use take-offs, each panel will be listed if you are not careful. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 26, 2008 at 9:27:42 PM | Locking nested families?

#13

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


this may give you some more insight into the subject

http://revitrants.blogspot.com/2007/09/family-type-parameter-for-swappable.html

HTH


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 27, 2008 at 5:23:09 PM | Locking nested families?

#14

ChopperDave


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
38 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for all the help. I got it figured out. I wasn't setting my reference planes to left/right/top/bottom in the nested family. Once I did that and locked those to the ref planes in the main family it worked.

Thanks again.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

nested families do not cut

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 5:44:55 PM

6

Door swings with nested families

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 18, 2009 at 6:41:24 PM

6

Hiding nested families in a project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 4:21:37 PM

4

turning on/off nested families in host family in different views in project.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 7, 2009 at 4:11:32 PM

2

Managing Nested Families (Auto-Updating)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 28, 2012 at 12:42:24 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1529721

Objects:

21317

Forum Posts:

151309

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4864

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights