RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

98 Users Online (96 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Exporting 3D ceilings with Grid Lines

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 11:47:27 AM | Exporting 3D ceilings with Grid Lines

#1

gregmeurer


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 23, 2005
26 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Hey everyone, so when I go to export my REVIT drawing to 3D .dwg, When I open the 3d model in Auto CAD, the gridlines on the ceiling do not come accross. Does anyone know how to make the gridlines export and show up in the .dwg that I create. Please take a look at the images if this does not make sense. Thanks for your time!!!!

Attached Images

43143_REVIT_Ceiling.JPG43143_Auto_CAD_Ceiling.JPG

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 12:08:12 PM | Exporting 3D ceilings with Grid Lines

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


That's interesting, your right!  You could place a 3d transparent fill overtop of your ceiling.  Not a nice work around but it should work.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 1:53:35 PM | Exporting 3D ceilings with Grid Lines

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 201 Votes


Hi, in CAD in Wireframe mode also don't appears?

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 8, 2011 at 1:34:04 AM | Exporting 3D ceilings with Grid Lines

#4

mikeinsverige


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 15, 2011
14 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Any more ideas or solutions about this? I haven't found a satisfactory one yet. It is an important issue with coordinating with engineering consultants.

I have heard of using sloped glazing to mimic the ceiling grid. Or to use "pick lines" and draw lines over top of all the ceiling grid. Both of those options create a lot more work for the architecture team. Or We could do 2D export showing the grid, and a 3D export showing the ceiling heights. That creates a lot more work for the MEP team linking in the files.

Has anyone come up with something clever to do here?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Break Grid lines

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Sun, Jul 18, 2010 at 9:36:15 AM

10

grid lines extend beyond detail

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 20, 2009 at 2:06:00 PM

6

Compound Ceiling Grid Not Exporting to DWG

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 8, 2013 at 9:53:46 AM

5

Grid Partial Visibility

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 3, 2016 at 1:08:39 PM

2

HOW DOES ONE SHOW EXISTING CEILING GRID GRAYED OUT, AND THE NEW CEILING IN BOLD?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 1, 2008 at 9:38:17 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

2010688

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152200

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 9.9337

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights