RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

238 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Can't open a Revit file. Never saw this error message before!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 7:36:46 PM | Can't open a Revit file. Never saw this error message before!

#1

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


"An attempt was made to access 'job file name'.rvt past its end."

This error message comes up and I cannot open this job.  I am in 2009, have opened and saved this file twice today and now I cannot open it.

Any suggestions?!?!?


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 7:49:06 PM | Can't open a Revit file. Never saw this error message before!

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Hi HOGMODO, did you install the upgrade (Service pack) to Revit 2009 arch.? did you try to recover (audit) that file before? I never see that error before... How many MB have the file? it's to big? Are the file already open and you don't know and try to re-open when the file it's already open? this is several questions i think it's relevant to solve the problem...  unless anybody has already past for this issue and have some awnser...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 8:15:41 PM | Can't open a Revit file. Never saw this error message before!

#3

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


I am using Revit 2009 Build 20080321_1900.  I tried to audit the file and got the same error message.  It is an 8 meg file so it is tiny.  There is actually nothing in it but an imported .dwg survey on which I have detailed some 2D lines, text, filled areas, and masked areas.  Just some simple site repairs to an existing housing project.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 8:16:20 PM | Can't open a Revit file. Never saw this error message before!

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 355 Votes


THIS HAS COME UP BEFORE IN THE PAST AND YOU CAN READ ABOUT IT IN OTHER POSTS.

 

Sorry abouth the caps...

 

Mr. Spot has written this "

Unfortunately "past its end" is one of the worst errors you can come across.

Contact Autodesk support and see if they can repair the file, but most likely it will be unrepairable.  Best bet is to find a local file or a backup that you can open that has the least missing information.."


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 8:36:34 PM | You're not really a bundle of joy about this, are you?

#5

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


Any idea what might have caused this?  I am overlaying the imported .dwg survey, masking out changed areas, and then placing lines, text, and filled regions to indicate repairs in the existing walks and paving.  Is there something about this combination that is dangerous?

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 9:28:17 PM | Can't open a Revit file. Never saw this error message before!

#6

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


are you moving or saving these file in anyway using a wireless network?

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 9:57:55 PM | Can't open a Revit file. Never saw this error message before!

#7

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


Nope.  Same old network save I always use.  Nothing different about this save versus the thousands of others that worked fine.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

error message, unable to open revit file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 6, 2008 at 3:12:12 PM

1

error message importing DWG file into Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 13, 2013 at 4:07:30 PM

3

error message "invaled file handle" won't let me open project.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 17, 2008 at 7:07:32 PM

1

error message trying to download a family into revit 2011

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:07:52 PM

2

Error message-Failed to open document

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 10, 2008 at 11:17:40 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1464979

Objects:

21003

Forum Posts:

150961

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.6553

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights