RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

73 Users Online (72 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Dormer Roofs driving me mad

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 4:15:10 AM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#1

wilson0207


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 16, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


Hi, this seems to be a big issue with Rev 09 but i have tried to recreate the attached image for days now, and still no joy. I have a dropped eaves arrangment, and i got so far with a dormer opening and it even cut into the main roof correctly, but the issue seems to be where the dormer openeing needs to sit on walls inside the room, But there are no walls, please can anyone solve my problem

 

greatly appreciated, as always


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 4:18:08 AM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#2

wilson0207


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 16, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating




Attached Images

41935_Dormer_Problem.GIF

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 4:32:13 AM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#3

wilson0207


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 16, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


As you can see from these attached photo's i can edit the internal wall profile to fill in the exposed gaps of the dormer cheeks whilst keeping the internal walls where they should be. But on my 1st image i cant seem to create the window sitting on the external brickwork with a pediment on top cutting into the main roof, please help

Attached Images

41937_dormer_1.GIF41937_dormer_2.GIF

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 5:21:06 AM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 201 Votes


Hi Wilson, do you attach the wall bottom to the roof?

 

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 5:25:33 AM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#5

wilson0207


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 16, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


Typhoon always there to rescue Smile

 yes i attached wall to underside of roof, that worked

but in order for my dormer roof to be constructed im having to sit it on internal walls. but there are no internal walls on plan


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 5:32:39 AM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#6

wilson0207


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 16, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


Plans should represent this



Attached Images

41942_dormer_3.GIF41942_dormer_3.GIF

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 5:47:29 AM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 201 Votes


If i undestand what you want, you can detach these wall to the roof and attach again the base to the slab, then your walls go to the slab, if that's what you want... but if the interior wall are different than the exterior, well you also can create that interior walls based in that level and then attach the Top to roof...

 



Edited on: Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 6:02:42 AM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 5:51:27 AM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#8

wilson0207


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 16, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


ok will keep trying

its hard to explain what i need. thanks for help as always


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 4, 2008 at 12:58:01 PM | Dormer Roofs driving me mad

#9

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 24, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


im not quite sure what your problem is but it sounds like you might want to attach the bottoms  of the exterior dormer walls to the roof so they dont go inside?

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Tricky Roof Condition - Join Roofs not cutting roofs?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 12, 2010 at 6:06:33 PM

3

With roofs grouped, join roof tool not allowed

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 20, 2012 at 2:37:50 PM

2

unexplained failure of dormer walls to join at corner

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 23, 2009 at 7:22:31 AM

8

Revit link driving me mad!

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 24, 2010 at 9:26:18 AM

2

Revit 2010 Is Driving me MAD !!!Making Mass with FORM tool is ..confusing me!!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 23, 2009 at 9:10:09 AM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1984555

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152175

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3626

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights