RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

300 Users Online (176 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 12:11:45 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#1

kyoungblut


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 30, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


So i'm creating a Wall Based Urinal with ADA standards (which locates the object a specific distance above the floor) as well with normal standards, and when i insert it into a project there is some unknown parameter (Elevation) that is locating the position of my object even though i have set one up in the first place (C.L. Outlet) how would i override this and make the family accept my value and not the one in the family. or atleast locate it to give it a formula... something.. anything :S

 I can load my file if needed but hopefully this can be resolved with out.

 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 1:04:59 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#2

afc4


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
91 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


What you are going to need to do is with in the family you have a family types button. What this has is all the parameters that are associated with a given family. So if you created a dimension with a label( lets say its elevation) that label has a distance attached to it and the easiest place to change it is under family types.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 1:09:34 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


Yeah, you must edit the Urinal family and check that dimension (elevation)....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 1:16:34 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#4

kyoungblut


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 30, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


my issue is that the Elevation Parameter is not visible in the family, and is only active when inserted into a project, i have loaded the family so that you can see, i've created family types, and parameters for it to be based off of, but this Elevation Parameter overrides everything else, and i can't locate it in the actually family.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 1:36:02 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#5

afc4


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
91 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


When you place it in the project you need to change its element properties, the elevations is located there. If you put the elevation to 0 it will use the formulas you entered.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 1:48:03 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#6

kyoungblut


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 30, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


i guess i'm missing something here, i have attached it into a project, and i changed the value to 0 and well thats what it did, it went to the floor. :S

Attached Files

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 2:00:04 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#7

afc4


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
91 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


well for some reason in one of the files i brought it into, changing the elevation to 0 it worked. In the case of your file it did bring it to the floor. I guess the work around would be to match the elevation to the height that you want. It doesn't look as the the parameters are totally correct.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 2:03:39 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#8

kyoungblut


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 30, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


could you send me your example that did work? maybe i can figure it out from that :s

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 2, 2008 at 5:08:49 PM | Wall Based Plumbing Fixtures.. Elevation parameter.. help please!

#9

85lho


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 13, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


I have the exact same problem for case-work and generic models and using the elevation property which is an instance parameter is just not good enough.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Calculating Total Plumbing Fixtures needed

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Feb 3, 2014 at 3:39:13 PM

3

Invert elevation tag for plumbing fixtures

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 18, 2011 at 4:21:32 AM

0

plumbing fixtures in foundation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 23, 2006 at 4:11:18 AM

2

Plumbing Schedule Totals

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 7:05:02 PM

1

Plumbing Fixture Schedule

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 4:36:00 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1453890

Objects:

20610

Forum Posts:

150695

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9682

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights