RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

127 Users Online (47 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> adding an image to the render appearance library

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 6:21:46 AM | adding an image to the render appearance library

#1

leeroy


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 3, 2006
63 Posts
No Rating


can anyone assist me in adding an image to the render appearance library. I obtained the images from Steel Select website - they are images of colorbond steel roofing & cladding such as custom orb & trimdek. the images are Bitmaps.

 thanks in advance

Leeroy


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 1:45:09 PM | adding an image to the render appearance library

#2

afc4


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 5, 2006
91 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


to add an image to the revit library you first need to find the location of where the image files are stored.

C:\Program Files\Revit Architecture 2009\Data\Rendering\assetlibrary_base.fbm\Materials\Generic

 Then you need to add in your image.

Once you  have your new image in that location you need to go to materials under the settings pull down, when this opens up you will need to create a new material and under the render appearance you will browse to you image file.

when you choose you image file you have a couple options to change the size and scale so all that will be up to what you want it to look like.  

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2008 at 8:17:23 PM | adding an image to the render appearance library

#3

colin1182


active

Joined: Sat, Jun 14, 2008
17 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


every time I try to repath the render image to the new jpg for the new material it says 'invalid image file' in the image window. any ideas?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2008 at 8:19:15 PM | adding an image to the render appearance library

#4

colin1182


active

Joined: Sat, Jun 14, 2008
17 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


i should add that the image file i am using is a jpg from the accurender material library. there used to be all these nice marble and alabaster materials but the new version of revit (2009) seems to have omitted them all except for a couple that have a grid on them which i absolutly do not want.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2008 at 8:35:51 PM | adding an image to the render appearance library

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Well, ace times I have homesicknesses of the OLD accurender (200Shadey, i think, in the OLD times, it's more easy to create and control the materials (Textures), to apply to the materials, but, in this version we don't have a "USER" library to SAVE  the materials to use in others proj. but...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2008 at 9:21:32 PM | adding an image to the render appearance library

#6

colin1182


active

Joined: Sat, Jun 14, 2008
17 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I understand about the library and I am doing this all within a project. I just cannot get the JPG to apply to the new render material. I followed these directions exactly: 

 "to add an image to the revit library you first need to find the location of where the image files are stored.

C:\Program Files\Revit Architecture 2009\Data\Rendering\assetlibrary_base.fbm\Materials\Generic

 Then you need to add in your image.

Once you  have your new image in that location you need to go to materials under the settings pull down, when this opens up you will need to create a new material and under the render appearance you will browse to you image file.

when you choose you image file you have a couple options to change the size and scale so all that will be up to what you want it to look like.   "

but when I get to the 'browse to image file' and choose my JPG, I get a message that says invalid image file. Can we not create our own materials at all in 2009? if not that is rediculously dumb because the render appearences included in the package are incredibly limited. it seems like no other users have a similar problem when creating materials and I can't figure out what I am doing differently than everyone else.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2008 at 9:37:39 PM | adding an image to the render appearance library

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Well COLIN, honestly , some times i don't follow that rules, i "Scan" or "Catch" an image of google and save them in a folder, so when i must use them i go to the materials, duplicate one by default, then i gonna browse the image at that folder, and i change the Image file, the reflectivite, bump, transparency and so one, i don't put the image in "C:\Program Files\Revit Architecture 2009\Data\Rendering\assetlibrary_base.fbm\Materials\Generic", i create a folder with MATERIALS and then create a sub-folders with "Glass", "fire", "Concrete", "Stone" and so one...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 17, 2009 at 12:08:06 AM | adding an image to the render appearance library

#8

yamurano


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 11, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


Hey guys I have figured out what the issue is with render images missing. This is caused by the simple fact that when families are created and then imported in REVIT they often carry with them images, such as in my case I imported an office desk setup with a computer screen. The computer screen had a sky image imbedded within. However, every time I would go to render a scene that the computer screen showed up in I would get an error saying Vectorsky.jpeg image missing. After many hours of searching through the Render materials library I stumbled across the the jpeg file. After deleting the file the error has gone away. Let me know if this was any benefit to you. Happy Holidays

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Adding New Materials to the Render Appearance Library in RAC 2009? [ 1 2 3 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 8, 2008 at 11:11:21 PM

31

Render Appearance Library - Reloading

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 18, 2009 at 6:04:31 PM

1

Revit 2009 Additional Render Library - Anyone know any about it

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Sep 6, 2008 at 2:01:47 AM

0

Revit 2009 - Additional Render Appearance Paths

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 2, 2008 at 12:44:11 PM

0

material image library

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 1, 2011 at 9:36:14 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1460609

Objects:

20974

Forum Posts:

150935

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4660

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights